Print Page email page

2020 SPIE Senior Members

74 New Senior Members Elected

SPIE Senior Members are Members of distinction honored for their professional experience, their active involvement with the optics community and SPIE, and/or significant performance that sets them apart from their peers. Senior Member recognition is a separate category from the Society's Fellows program, intended to be more accessible to active Members earlier in their careers, as well as other Members in a broader constituency.

SPIE Members can apply for this distinction by completing and submitting the nomination form, or be nominated by a colleague or mentor. Nominations will be reviewed by the SPIE Membership Committee who will then submit their recommendations to the SPIE Board of Directors for approval.  Please view Senior Member nomination criteria before applying.


Nominate a Senior Member  ›

Printable nomination poster available here.
  Download, print and post in your workplace to encourage other SPIE members to nominate a colleague - or nominate themselves.  The nomination submission deadline is 15 March of each year; nomination support materials can be received until 1 April.

Dr. Muhammad Rafiq Abuturab   Dr. Muhammad Rafiq Abuturab
Maulana Azad College of Engineering and Technology, India
Mr. Saeed H. Al Mansoori   Mr. Saeed H. Al Mansoori
Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Ctr, United Arab Emirates
Dr. Muhammad K. Al-Qaisi   Dr. Muhammad K. Al-Qaisi
BD Biosciences, United States
Dr. Gabriela Apiou-Sbirlea   Dr. Gabriela Apiou-Sbirlea
Wellman Ctr for Photomedicine, United States
Dr. Sumith Bandara   Dr. Sumith Bandara
US Army CCDC C5ISR Ctr Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate, United States
Prof. Ayan Banerjee   Prof. Ayan Banerjee
IISER Kolkata, India
Dr. John Fredy Barrera Ramírez   Dr. John Fredy Barrera Ramírez
Univ de Antioquia, Colombia
Prof. Wim Bogaerts   Prof. Wim Bogaerts
Univ Gent, Belgium
Dr. Claudio E. Bruschini   Dr. Claudio E. Bruschini
Ecole Polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne , Switzerland
Dr. Danuta M. Bukowska-Sampson   Dr. Danuta M. Bukowska-Sampson
United Kingdom
Dr. Martin Burkhardt   Dr. Martin Burkhardt
IBM Thomas J Watson Research Ctr, United States
Dr. Pavel Cheben   Dr. Pavel Cheben
National Research Council Canada, Canada
Prof. Shean-Jen Chen   Prof. Shean-Jen Chen
National Yang Ming Chiao Tung Univ, Taiwan
Prof. Zhen Cheng   Prof. Zhen Cheng
Stanford Univ School of Medicine, United States
Dr. Amol Choudhary   Dr. Amol Choudhary
Indian Institute of Technology, India
Mr. Christopher T. Cotton   Mr. Christopher T. Cotton
ASE Sailing Inc, United States
Dr. Mini Das   Dr. Mini Das
Univ. of Houston, United States
Dr. Prakash Duraisamy   Dr. Prakash Duraisamy
Univ of South Alabama, United States
Prof. Daniel S. Elson   Prof. Daniel S. Elson
Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Dr. Ernest J. Feleppa   Dr. Ernest J. Feleppa
Riverside Research, United States
Dr. Germain L. Fenger   Dr. Germain L. Fenger
Mentor a Siemens Business, United States
Dr. Stavroula Foteinopoulou   Dr. Stavroula Foteinopoulou
Univ of New Mexico, United States
Prof. John T. Fourkas   Prof. John T. Fourkas
Univ of Maryland College Park, United States
Prof. Desmond R. Gibson   Prof. Desmond R. Gibson
Univ of the West of Scotland, United Kingdom
Prof. Noel C. Giebink   Prof. Noel C. Giebink
Pennsylvania State Univ, United States
Ms. Debbie Gustafson   Ms. Debbie Gustafson
Energetiq Technology Inc, United States
Prof. James P. Hamilton   Prof. James P. Hamilton
Photonic Cleaning Technologies LLC, United States
Dr. Jed J. Hancock   Dr. Jed J. Hancock
Space Dynamics Lab., United States
Dr. Ralf K. Heilmann   Dr. Ralf K. Heilmann
MIT Kavli Inst for Astrophysics and Space Research, United States
Mr. Eric Herman   Mr. Eric Herman
United States
Dr. Joseph B. Herzog   Dr. Joseph B. Herzog
Univ of Indianapolis, United States
Prof. Song Hu   Prof. Song Hu
Washington Univ in St. Louis, United States
Mr. Jeremy Huddleston   Mr. Jeremy Huddleston
LightPath Technologies Inc, United States
Prof. Ivana Išgum   Prof. Ivana Išgum
Amsterdam UMC, Netherlands
Dr. Sarah Kendrew   Dr. Sarah Kendrew
European Space Agency, United States
Prof. Mikhail Konstantinovich K. Khodzitskiy   Prof. Mikhail Konstantinovich K. Khodzitskiy
ITMO Univ, Russian Federation
Dr. Ajay M. Koshti   Dr. Ajay M. Koshti
NASA Johnson Space Ctr, United States
Prof. Patrick J. La Rivière   Prof. Patrick J. La Rivière
Univ of Chicago, United States
Dr. Neal V. Lafferty   Dr. Neal V. Lafferty
Siemens EDA, United States
Prof. Andrew J. Lambert   Prof. Andrew J. Lambert
UNSW Canberra at ADFA, Australia
Mr. Richard R. Leach   Mr. Richard R. Leach
Lawrence Livermore National Lab, United States
Dr. Ted Liang   Dr. Ted Liang
Intel Corp, United States
Dr. Ivan T. Lima   Dr. Ivan T. Lima
North Dakota State University, United States
Prof. Shiuan-Huei Lin   Prof. Shiuan-Huei Lin
National Chiao Tung Univ, Taiwan
Dr. Amy W. K. Liu   Dr. Amy W. K. Liu
IQE, United States
Prof. Chengbo Liu   Prof. Chengbo Liu
Shenzhen Institutes of Advanced Technology, China
Dr. Kevin Lucas   Dr. Kevin Lucas
Synopsys Inc, United States
Dr. Makenzie Lystrup   Dr. Makenzie Lystrup
Ball Aerospace, United States
Prof. Michael I. Miga   Prof. Michael I. Miga
Vanderbilt Univ, United States
Prof. Wataru Nakagawa   Prof. Wataru Nakagawa
Montana State Univ, United States
Prof. Lidia Ogiela   Prof. Lidia Ogiela
Dr. Ndubuisi  G. Orji   Dr. Ndubuisi G. Orji
National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States
Dr. Thomas D. O'Sullivan   Dr. Thomas D. O'Sullivan
Univ of Notre Dame, United States
Prof. Manojit Pramanik   Prof. Manojit Pramanik
Nanyang Technological Univ, Singapore
Dr. Jerry Ladd Prince   Dr. Jerry Ladd Prince
Johns Hopkins Univ, United States
Prof. Vijaya Ramarao   Prof. Vijaya Ramarao
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
Mr. Samuel P. Sadoulet   Mr. Samuel P. Sadoulet
Edmund Optics Inc, United States
Dr. Marius Schamschula   Dr. Marius Schamschula
Alabama A&M University, United States
Prof. Axel Schülzgen   Prof. Axel Schülzgen
Creol the College of Optics and Photonics, United States
Dr. Shumay Shang   Dr. Shumay Shang
Mentor a Siemens Business, United States
Prof. Jianda Shao   Prof. Jianda Shao
Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, China
Prof. Shy Shoham   Prof. Shy Shoham
NYU Langone Health, United States
Prof. Robert Sitnik   Prof. Robert Sitnik
Warsaw Univ of Technology, Poland
Prof. Michael A. Speidel   Prof. Michael A. Speidel
Univ of Wisconsin-Madison, United States
Dr. Stuart R. Stock   Dr. Stuart R. Stock
Northwestern Univ, United States
Dr. Jinghua Teng   Dr. Jinghua Teng
A*STAR IMRE, Singapore
Mr. Mark A. Tolbert   Mr. Mark A. Tolbert
TOPTICA Photonics Inc, United States
Dr. Jan Van Schoot   Dr. Jan Van Schoot
ASML, Netherlands
Dr. Laurent Vivien   Dr. Laurent Vivien
Ctr de Nanosciences et de Nanotechnologies, France
Prof. Lizhe Wang   Prof. Lizhe Wang
Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth, China
Dr. Ya Wang   Dr. Ya Wang
Texas A&M Univ, United States
Prof. Jian Xu   Prof. Jian Xu
Pennsylvania State Univ, United States
Prof. Sumio Yano   Prof. Sumio Yano
Dr. Lifeng Yu   Dr. Lifeng Yu
Mayo Clinic, United States
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?