SPIE Senior Members

Congratulations to our Members of distinction

SPIE Senior Members are Members of distinction honored for their professional experience, their active involvement with the optics community and SPIE, and/or significant performance that sets them apart from their peers. Senior Member recognition is intended to be accessible to active Members earlier in their careers, as well as to other Members in a broader constituency.

Please view Senior Member nomination criteria before submitting a nomination.

Nominate a Senior Member

89 new SPIE Senior Members elected in 2023

Dr. Timothy M. C. Abbott

Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory

Dr. Alexander R. Albrecht

The Univ. of New Mexico

Mr. Sachidananda R. Babu

NASA Earth Science Technology Office

Dr. Saša Bajt

Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron

Dr. Bryan M. Barnes

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Dr. Steven Berukoff

NSF's National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Lab.

Prof. Prem Ballabh Bisht

Indian Institute of Technology Madras

Dr. Joel N. Bixler

Air Force Research Lab.

Dr. Misty Blowers

Datalytica LLC

Dr. Ingo Bork

Siemens EDA

Prof. Christian Brosseau

Univ. de Bretagne Occidentale

Prof. Hui Cao

Yale Univ.

Dr. Christopher W. Carr

Lawrence Livermore National Lab.

Dr. Zhenyue Chen

Univ. Zürich

Prof. Chau-Jern Cheng

National Taiwan Normal Univ.

Dr. Myung K. Cho

NSF's National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Lab.

Dr. Charles F. Claver

Vera C. Rubin Observatory

Dr. Laura E. Coyle

BAE Systems, Inc.

Prof. Brian T. Cunningham

Univ. of Illinois

Prof. Hamed Dalir

Univ. of Florida

Dr. Peter S. DeVore

Lawrence Livermore National Lab.

Dr. Kyle R. Drexler

Naval Information Warfare Ctr. Pacific

Dr. Mohammad H. Elahinia

The Univ. of Toledo

Dr. Konstantinos Falaggis

The Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

Prof. Didier Felbacq

Univ. de Montpellier

Dr. Zexin Feng

Beijing Institute of Technology

Dr. Anuradha Godavarty

Florida International Univ.

Mr. William J. Gressler

Vera C. Rubin Observatory

Dr. Jason A. Guicheteau

DEVCOM Chemical Biological Ctr.

Dr. Brian A. Hicks

BAE Systems, Inc.

Dr. Xisen Hou

DuPont Electronics & Industrial

Dr. Soichi Inoue


Dr. Abhinav Kumar Jha

Washington Univ. in St. Louis

Dr. James B. Johnson

MIT Lincoln Lab.

Prof. Antonios G. Kanaras

Univ. of Southampton

Dr. DongKyun Kang

Wyant College of Optical Sciences

Prof. Alexander B. Khanikaev

The City College of New York

Prof. Giti A. Khodaparast

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.

Mr. Jangsun Kim


Mr. Paul C. Knutrud

Onto Innovation Inc.

Prof. Tae-Woo Lee

Seoul National Univ.

Prof. Beiwen Li

Iowa State Univ. of Science and Technology

Dr. Hui Li

The Univ. of Chicago

Dr. Mingqi Li

DuPont Electronics & Industrial

Dr. Sarah J. Lipscy

BAE Systems, Inc.

Prof. Po-Tsun Liu

National Yang Ming Chiao Tung Univ.

Prof. Yu-Jung Lu

Research Ctr. for Applied Sciences - Academia Sinica

Mr. Mark John Maslow

ASML Netherlands B.V.

Dr. Muhammad Qasim Mehmood

Information Technology Univ. of the Punjab

Prof. Jeremy N. Munday

Univ. of California, Davis

Prof. Teri W. Odom

Northwestern Univ.

Dr. Saidi Reddy Parne

National Institute of Technology Goa

Dr. Rosario Porras-Aguilar

The Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte

Prof. Ioannis Sechopoulos

Radboud Univ. Medical Ctr.

Dr. Daniel C. Senft

Air Force Research Lab.

Dr. Behrouz Shabestari

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering

Dr. Corrie Smeaton

MIT Lincoln Lab.

Dr. Ronald M. Summers

National Institutes of Health Clinical Ctr.

Prof. Michael E. Thomas

Johns Hopkins Univ. Applied Physics Lab., LLC

Dr. Heather M. Whitney

The Univ. of Chicago

Prof. Rengmao Wu

Zhejiang Univ.

Prof. Ken-Tye Yong

The Univ. of Sydney

Dr. Imrana Ashraf Zahid

Quaid-i-Azam Univ.

Prof. Chi Zhang

Tongji Univ.