San Diego Convention Center
San Diego, California, United States
23 - 27 August 2020
Conference OP113
Spintronics XIII
show | hide
Abstract Due:
12 February 2020

Author Notification:
20 April 2020

Manuscript Due Date:
29 July 2020

show | hide
Conference Chairs
Conference Co-Chair
Program Committee
  • Claire Baraduc, CEA-Grenoble (France)
  • Franco Ciccacci, Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
  • Russell P. Cowburn, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
  • Scott A. Crooker, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
  • Vincent Cros, Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
  • Hanan Dery, Univ. of Rochester (United States)
  • Rogério de Sousa, Univ. of Victoria (Canada)
  • Michel I. Dyakonov, Univ. Montpellier 2 (France)
  • Michael E. Flatté, The Univ. of Iowa (United States)
  • Joseph S. Friedman, The Univ. of Texas at Dallas (United States)
  • Pietro Gambardella, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
  • Jean-Marie George, Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
  • Julie Grollier, Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
  • Erez Hasman, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology (Israel)
  • Tomás Jungwirth, Institute of Physics of the CAS, v.v.i. (Czech Republic)
  • Giti A. Khodaparast, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ. (United States)

Program Committee continued...
  • Mathias Klaui, Univ. Konstanz (Germany)
  • Daniel Lacour, Institut Jean Lamour (France)
  • Connie H. Li, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
  • Aurélien Manchon, King Abdullah Univ. of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)
  • Xavier Marie, INSA - Univ. of Toulouse (France)
  • Laurens W. Molenkamp, Julius-Maximilians-Univ. Würzburg (Germany)
  • Hiro Munekata, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan)
  • Hans T. Nembach, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States)
  • Yoshichika Otani, The Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
  • Vlad Pribiag, Univ. of Minnesota, Twin Cities (United States)
  • Dafiné Ravelosona, Institut d'Électronique Fondamentale (France)
  • Nicolas Rougemaille, Institut NÉEL (France)
  • Georg Schmidt, Martin-Luther-Univ. Halle-Wittenberg (Germany)
  • Jing Shi, Univ. of California, Riverside (United States)
  • Vasily V. Temnov, Univ. du Maine (France)
  • Luc Thomas, Headway Technology (United States)
  • Evgeny Tsymbal, Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln (United States)
  • Olaf M. J. van 't Erve, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
  • Joerg Wunderlich, Hitachi Cambridge Lab. (United Kingdom)
  • Igor Zutic, Univ. at Buffalo (United States)

Call for
For years the spin degree of freedom has been directly used as an information support in nanometer-scale devices. Today applications mostly concern the huge market of hard-drive read heads, nonvolatile magnetic memories (MRAMs), or magnetic logic units. Recent developments are being considered for spin-based logic or quantum computing. New topics are emerging in frontier fields, e.g. Skyrmions and domain-wall manipulation, topological insulators, Majorana fermions, spin photonics and spin optics (the latter being based on recent developments in plasmonics), or spin-caloric phenomena. These advances make use of the fascinating developments of new materials.

The purpose of the conference is to provide a broad overview of the state-of-the-art and perspectives, bringing together experts from different communities: fundamental physics (experimental and theoretical), materials science and chemistry, fabrication processes and industrial developments, etc. Contributions for this conference are encouraged in particular in the following areas:
  • spin-coherence, semiconductor spin physics, quantum wells and quantum dots
  • magnetic nanostructures, micromagnetism, spin-precession, and magnonics
  • spin-injection, spin-transfer, spin-Hall and related effects
  • new materials (graphene and chalcogenides, oxides, organics, etc.)
  • topological matter, skyrmions
  • new structures and applications (magnetoresistive devices, MRAMs, spin logic, crystalline tunnel barriers, etc.)
  • neuromorphic computing
  • spin photonics, spin lasers, and spin optics.
Back to Top