• Explore Membership
  • Student Services
  • Student Events
    Student Chapters
    Application, Requirements and Criteria
    Named SPIE Scholarships
    Michael Kidger Scholarship
    Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship
    The Yaver Scholarship
    MKS Instruments Awards
    Student Author Travel Grants
    Visiting Lecturers
  • Early Career Resources
  • Corporate Membership
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
Print PageEmail Page

The Yaver Scholarship

The Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship

The Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship is intended for those seeking an advanced degree that provides “the business knowledge required to facilitate the advancement and application of optics and photonics research and technology.”

The scholarship is available to SPIE Members and staff seeking an advanced degree from an accredited organizational management program, such as those awarding master’s degrees in non-profit management, business administration, and technology management.

The scholarship honors the contributions and vision of the Yavers, who were instrumental to the technical and financial success of the Society.

Agnete and Joe Yaver

Joe Yaver, who died in November 2016, was the innovative executive director of SPIE from November 1969 until 1993. Agnete Yaver worked alongside her husband in building the foundation for SPIE’s current multidisciplinary, international scope, and advancing its mission.

Read the SPIE Professional article to learn more.

Learn more about Joe and Agnete's contributions to SPIE by downloading our booklet, Remembering Joe Yaver.

2018 Recipient Chris Maloney

Chris Maloney, a Senior Applications Engineer at QED Technologies is the recipient of the inaugural Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship. Chris is currently enrolled in an MBA program at Messiah College for Strategic Leadership.

Read the SPIE press release to learn more.

Chris Maloney

The Yaver Scholarship is one of several named SPIE scholarships that are funded by companies and individuals who partner with SPIE to serve its non-profit educational mission.

An amount of US$10,000 is awarded annually in May. The next application cycle for the 2019 scholarship will open soon.

Application Deadline: 15 March 2019.