• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Fellows
    Complete List of SPIE Fellows
    Fellows Nomination Criteria
    Fellows Nomination Form
    Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Fellows

32 New SPIE Fellows Elected

Each year, SPIE promotes members as new Fellows of the Society. SPIE will honor 32 new Fellows of the Society this year. Fellows are Members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community, and to SPIE in particular. More than 1,000 SPIE members have become Fellows since the Society's inception in 1955.

2016 SPIE Fellows

Dr. Eugene Arthurs

Dr.  Eugene Arthurs

SPIE, United States
for achievements in sustained reinforcement of SPIE's stature within the global photonics community as well as the Society's increasing influence in directing government policy that affects the constituents of SPIE.
Prof. Augusto Beléndez

Prof.  Augusto Beléndez

Univ. de Alicante, Spain
for achievements in holographic materials, optical storage and diffractive optics.
Dr. Alexey Belyanin

Dr.  Alexey Belyanin

Texas A&M Univ., United States
for achievements in ultrafast & nonlinear optics of nanostructures; mid-IR and THz optoelectronics.
Prof. Bernard Choi

Prof.  Bernard Choi

Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic, United States
for achievements in biophotonics and biomedical optics of skin and microvascular therapy.
Dr. Laurence Clarke

Dr.  Laurence Clarke

National Cancer Institute, United States
for achievements in medical imaging and analysis.
Dr. Thomas Cooley

Dr.  Thomas Cooley

Air Force Research Lab., United States
for achievements in space-based imaging spectroscopy.
Prof. Jürgen Czarske

Prof.  Jürgen Czarske

TU Dresden, Germany
for achievements in optical metrology and engineering.
Dr. Peter Delfyett

Dr.  Peter Delfyett

CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, Univ. of Central Florida, United States
for achievements in development of mode-locked lasers for communications and signal processing.
Dr. Armin Doerry

Dr.  Armin Doerry

Sandia National Labs., United States
for achievements in imaging microwave radar technology development, design and analysis.
Dr. Jason Eichenholz

Dr.  Jason Eichenholz

Open Photonics, Inc., United States
for achievements in spectroscopy, SPIE service, and as a photonics entrepreneur.
Dr. Andreas Erdmann

Dr.  Andreas Erdmann

Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Systeme und Bauelementetechnologie IISB, Germany
for achievements in modeling of optical and EUV lithography.
Prof. Rinat Esenaliev

Prof.  Rinat Esenaliev

The Univ. of Texas Medical Branch, United States
for achievements in biomedical optics, including photoacoustics, ablation, and nanoparticle therapy.
Dr. Stephen Fantone

Dr.  Stephen Fantone

Optikos Corp., United States
for achievements in optical engineering, metrology, and software development.
Dr. Joseph Howard

Dr.  Joseph Howard

NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr., United States
for achievements in space optical instrument design.
Dr. Ilko Ilev

Dr.  Ilko Ilev

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, United States
for achievements in biomedical optics, biophotonics and nanobiophotonics.
Mr. Richard Juergens

Mr.  Richard Juergens

Raytheon Missile Systems, United States
for achievements in optical design engineering.
Prof. Dennis Killinger

Prof.  Dennis Killinger

Univ. of South Florida, United States
for achievements in lidar and laser remote sensing of the atmosphere.
Prof. Guoqiang Li

Prof.  Guoqiang Li

The Ohio State Univ., United States
for achievements in design, fabrication, and integration of optical and electro-optic devices.
Prof. Jean-Christophe Olivo-Marin

Prof.  Jean-Christophe Olivo-Marin

Institut Pasteur, France
for achievements in bioimage optics and informatics.
Mr. Richard Pfisterer

Mr.  Richard Pfisterer

Photon Engineering LLC, United States
for achievements in optical engineering software for solving complex, real-world optical problems.
Dr. Gary Pickrell

Dr.  Gary Pickrell

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ., United States
for achievements in optical fiber and optical fiber sensor research, development and education.
Dr. Mary Potasek

Dr.  Mary Potasek

Simphotek Inc., United States
for achievements in nonlinear fiber optics, quantum optics, biological optics.
Dr. Ingmar Renhorn

Dr.  Ingmar Renhorn

Renhorn IR Consultant AB, Sweden
for achievements in infrared and electro-optical systems.
Dr. Kurt Ronse

Dr.  Kurt Ronse

IMEC, Belgium
for achievements in microlithography, advanced patterning.
Mr. Peter Schunemann

Mr.  Peter Schunemann

BAE Systems, United States
for achievements in Non-linear optical crystals for frequency conversion in the mid infrared region.
Prof. Peter So

Prof.  Peter So

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
for achievements in biophotonics.
Dr. Martin Stickley

Dr.  Martin Stickley

Consultant, United States
for achievements in distinguished contribution to development of high power lasers.
Dr. Robert Thomas

Dr.  Robert Thomas

Air Force Research Lab., United States
for achievements in understanding mechanisms of optical interactions with tissues and contributions to developing laser safety standards.
Dr. Monte Turner

Dr.  Monte Turner

Air Force Research Lab., United States
for achievements in laser radar and other EO systems.
Dr. Michael Wang

Dr.  Michael Wang

Univ. of Miami, United States
for achievements in spectral imaging, optical tomography, integrated optics, holography.
Prof. Changhuei Yang

Prof.  Changhuei Yang

California Institute of Technology, United States
for achievements in microscopy and optical imaging.
Dr. George Zentai

Dr.  George Zentai

Varian Medical Systems, Inc., United States
for achievements in digital x-ray Imaging for security and medical applications.
Dr. Xuejun Zhang

Dr.  Xuejun Zhang

Changchun Institute of Optics, Fine Mechanics and Physics, China
for achievements in optical system design, manufacturing, testing and management.

Nominate a colleague today.

Nomination form