Prof. Mitsuo Takeda

Fellow Member | Professor
Takeda, Mitsuo
SPIE Leadership: Retrieving Data, please wait...
SPIE Membership: 28.8 years
SPIE Awards: Fellow status | 2017 Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology | 2010 Dennis Gabor Award in Diffractive Optics
SPIE Involvement: Retrieving Data, please wait...
Area of Expertise: Optical Metrology, Holography and Optical Information Processing, Imaging and Fourier Optics, Signal and Image Processing
Contact Details:
Sign In to send a private message or view contact details

Profile Summary

Mitsuo Takeda is Emeritus Fellow of Center for Optical Research and Education at Utsunomiya University, and Professor Emeritus of the University of Electro-Communications (UEC), Tokyo, Japan.

He received the BE degree in Electrical Engineering from UEC in 1969, and the ME and Ph.D. degrees in Applied Physics from the University of Tokyo, respectively, in 1971 and 1974.

After working for Canon Inc., he joined the faculty of UEC in 1977. He retired from UEC in 2012 and joined Utsunomiya University, from which he retired in 2021. During 1985 he was a visiting scholar of Prof. Joseph W. Goodman's Group at Stanford University, and in 2013-2014 a Humboldt Guest Professor at ITO University of Stuttgart, Germany.

His technical activities and interest include:

1) Optical metrology
2) Holography and optical information processing
3) Statistical optics and imaging theory

His service to technical community includes:

1) President/Executive Director of the Optical Society of Japan, JSAP, 2010.4-2012.3
2) Board of Directors of Japan Society of Applied Physics, 1993-1995
3) Board of Directors of Optical Society of Japan, 1996-1997
4) Board of Directors of SPIE 2003, 2007-2009.
5) Associate Editor of Optical Review, 1994-2003
6) Asian Editor of Journal of Holography and Speckle, 2004-present.
7) Member of the Editorial Board of Industrial Metrology 1990-1993, Optics and Lasers in Engineering 1999-present, Chinese Optics 2010-present, Journal of the European Optical Society RP 2013-present.

Honors and recognition:

Dennis Gabor Award (SPIE), Humboldt Research Award (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation), Emmett N. Leith Medal (OSA), Optics and Quantum Electronics Achievement Award (JSAP), Chandra S. Vikram Award (SPIE), Yoshizawa Award (JSPE), Distinguished Alumni Award (UEC)
SPIE Fellow, OSA Fellow, JSAP Fellow, a Member of International Order of Knights of Holography

Upcoming Presentations

Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...


Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...

Conference Committee Involvement

Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...

Course Instructor

Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research