• About the Society
  • Community Support
  • Advocacy
  • Get Involved
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Kathleen Richardson receives 2017 George W. Morey Award

21 April 2017

Kathleen Richardson
Kathleen Richardson

SPIE Fellow Kathleen Richardson, Professor of Optics and Materials Science and Engineering at CREOL/College of Optics and Photonics at the University of Central Florida and Director of CREOL’s Glass Processing and Characterization Lab, will receive the 2017 George W. Morey Award at the 12th Pacific Rim Conference on Ceramic and Glass Technology meeting in Hawaii in May 2017.

The George W. Morey Award is presented by the Glass and Optical Materials Division of the American Ceramic Society (ACerS) and sponsored by PPG Industries. The award recognizes new and original work in the field of glass science and technology. Winners are selected each year by the award committee, based on excellence in publication of work, either experimental or theoretical, done by the individual.

In addition to receiving the 2017 George W. Morey award from the ACerS, she will also be recognized with the 2017 Malcolm G. McClaren Distinguished Lecture award by Rutgers University, and the 2017 Sir Richard Brooks International Prize, by the European Ceramic Society (ECerS) for her sustained contributions to glass and ceramic research and education. And as part of the ceremonies, Richardson will deliver the George W. Morey lecture on “The evolution of chalcogenide glasses in infrared photonics – beyond invisible."

Richardson is a past-president of ACerS, and a former member of the Board of Directors of SPIE. She has authored more than 210 peer-reviewed publications, written book chapters, and presented and published numerous proceedings with SPIE and other organizations. She has organized and chaired multiple domestic and international meetings within her discipline, including at SPIE events, where she has served as symposium, conference, and session chair and on program committees. She was made a Fellow of the Society in 2008.

For more information: