Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Assembly and integration process of the first high density detector array for the Atacama Cosmology Telescope
Author(s): Yaqiong Li; Steve Choi; Shuay-Pwu Ho; Kevin T. Crowley; Maria Salatino; Sara M. Simon; Suzanne T. Staggs; Federico Nati; Jonathan Ward; Benjamin L. Schmitt; Shawn Henderson; Brian J. Koopman; Patricio A. Gallardo; Eve M. Vavagiakis; Michael D. Niemack; Jeff McMahon; Shannon M. Duff; Alessandro Schillaci; Johannes Hubmayr; Gene C. Hilton; James A. Beall; Edward J. Wollack
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Advanced ACTPol (AdvACT) upgrade on the Atacama Cosmology Telescope (ACT) consists of multichroic Transition Edge Sensor (TES) detector arrays to measure the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) polarization anisotropies in multiple frequency bands. The first AdvACT detector array, sensitive to both 150 and 230 GHz, is fabricated on a 150 mm diameter wafer and read out with a completely different scheme compared to ACTPol. Approximately 2000 TES bolometers are packed into the wafer leading to both a much denser detector density and readout circuitry. The demonstration of the assembly and integration of the AdvACT arrays is important for the next generation CMB experiments, which will continue to increase the pixel number and density. We present the detailed assembly process of the first AdvACT detector array.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 July 2016
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 9914, Millimeter, Submillimeter, and Far-Infrared Detectors and Instrumentation for Astronomy VIII, 991435 (20 July 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2233470
Show Author Affiliations
Yaqiong Li, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Steve Choi, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Shuay-Pwu Ho, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Kevin T. Crowley, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Maria Salatino, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Sara M. Simon, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Suzanne T. Staggs, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Federico Nati, Univ. of Pennsylvania (United States)
Jonathan Ward, Univ. of Pennsylvania (United States)
Benjamin L. Schmitt, Univ. of Pennsylvania (United States)
Shawn Henderson, Cornell Univ. (United States)
Brian J. Koopman, Cornell Univ. (United States)
Patricio A. Gallardo, Cornell Univ. (United States)
Eve M. Vavagiakis, Cornell Univ. (United States)
Michael D. Niemack, Cornell Univ. (United States)
Jeff McMahon, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Shannon M. Duff, NIST Quantum Devices Group (United States)
Alessandro Schillaci, Pontificia Univ. Católica de Chile (Chile)
Johannes Hubmayr, NIST Quantum Devices Group (United States)
Gene C. Hilton, NIST Quantum Devices Group (United States)
James A. Beall, NIST Quantum Devices Group (United States)
Edward J. Wollack, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9914:
Millimeter, Submillimeter, and Far-Infrared Detectors and Instrumentation for Astronomy VIII
Wayne S. Holland; Jonas Zmuidzinas, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?