Prof. Alberto Diaspro

Fellow Member | Professor at Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia
Diaspro, Alberto
SPIE Leadership: Retrieving Data, please wait...
SPIE Membership: 20.4 years
SPIE Awards: Fellow status | 2019 SPIE Community Champion
SPIE Involvement: Retrieving Data, please wait...
Area of Expertise: multiphoton microscopy, far field optical nanoscopy, three-dimensional imaging, fluorescence, optical super resolution, scattering
Websites: Personal Website | Company Website | Company Website
Social Media: LinkedIn
Contact Details:
Sign In to send a private message or view contact details

Profile Summary

Alberto Diaspro was born in Genoa, Italy, on April 7, 1959. He received is doctoral degree in electronic engineering from the University of Genoa, Italy, in 1983. He is Full Professor in the Applied Physics Area. He is Director of the Nanophysics Department of the Italian Institute of Technology (IIT) and Deputy Director of IIT, AD is member of the University advisory Commitee for PhD in Physics and Nanosciences (University of Genoa). AD founded LAMBS (Laboratory for Advanced Microscopy, Bioimaging and Spectroscopy, AD is author of more than 400 international ISI publications, H index 48, > 11000 citations. He was the President Elect of OWLS (Optics Within Life Sciences) ,Appointed Vice President of ICO (International Commission of Optics), past President of EBSA (European Biophysical Societies' Association, and he was member of the International Relations Committee of the Biophysical Society, AD has been invited as speaker to more than 300 international conferences. Recently he was the co-organizer of a World Conference on Microscopy, FOM2003, SIF 2008 (Italian Physical Society) and of EBSA 2009 ( He was visiting scientist at Drexel University, Philadelphia, USA, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Madrid, Spain, Academy of Sciences of Czech Republic, Polytechnich University of Bucharest, Romania, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA. AD was chairman of the OWLS conference 2012 and of MAF2013. AD is SPIE Fellow, OSA and IEEE Senior Member. AD received the Emily G. Gray Award of the Biophysical Society on 2014. AD is President of the Scientific Council of Festival of Science,

Upcoming Presentations

Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...


Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...

Conference Committee Involvement

Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...

Course Instructor

Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?