Frits Zernike Award

Yan Borodovsky receives the 2016 Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography.

01 April 2016

The 2016 Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography was presented at SPIE Advanced Lithography in February to SPIE Fellow Yan Borodovsky, who retired last year as director of advanced lithography at Intel (USA).

Borodovsky was recognized for his work in advancing multigenerational lithography process solutions and his key contributions to patterning approaches and layout design rules.

As an Intel Senior Fellow, Borodovsky was responsible for directing multigenerational advanced lithography definition and progress in the Technology and Manufacturing Group. He was involved in the development of lithography tooling and advanced patterning techniques since first joining Intel in 1987 as a staff engineer.

Yan Borodovsky (center) receives the 2016 Frits Zernike Award for Advances in Optical Microlithography. SPIE Advanced Lithography symposium chair Mircea Dusa is at right. At left is symposium cochair Bruce Smith.

“Yan has influenced nearly every lithographic innovation for the last two decades at least,” said David Shykind, a staff process engineer at Intel. “You could say he has a nose for what will allow us to keep photolithography relevant to semiconducting patterning as we fight to remain on the density curve of Moore’s Law.”

Borodovsky is perhaps best known for his work on optical proximity correction as well as several novel techniques for reducing critical dimensions, notes David Williamson, a Research Fellow at Nikon Research Corp. of America, an SPIE Fellow, and the 2007 Zernike Award recipient. Borodovsky has implemented complementary lithography strategies such as DUV, EUV, e-beam lithography, and template-directed self-assembly.

“With a combination of such techniques, he will continue to play a key role in pushing Moore’s Law well into the sub-10nm region over the next decade or two,” Williamson said.

SPIE presents the Frits Zernike Award annually for outstanding accomplishments in microlithographic technology, especially those furthering the development of semiconductor lithographic imaging solutions. The award is sponsored by ASML and includes a $2,000 honorarium.

Recent News
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?