New SPIE Senior Members

Fifty-two distinguished SPIE members are now SPIE Senior Members.

01 October 2014

Fifty-two distinguished SPIE members have been elevated to the rank of SPIE Senior Member for 2014.

SPIE Senior Members are honored for their professional experience, their active involvement with the optics community and SPIE, and/or significant performance that sets them apart from their peers.

A minimum of five years of cumulative SPIE membership (not as a student member) is required for nomination as a Senior Member. Senior Members must also have at least 10 years of professional experience, which may include credit for up to six years while earning an academic degree.

SPIE President H. Philip Stahl, senior optical physicist at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, congratulated the new Senior Members and thanked SPIE Fellow Jacobus (Jim) Oschmann and SPIE Senior Member Eva Campo for chairing the committees that make recommendations to the SPIE Board of Directors on Senior Member applicants.

Campo said committee members “noted increasingly high- accomplished nominees, following the trend observed in previous years. In fact, their accomplishments, while revolving around scientific and technological advancement, often feature strong education and service. This is the socially concerned scientific profile that SPIE values so highly.”

The SPIE Senior Member recognition program began in 2009 as a way to recognize active members earlier in their careers and from a broader constituency.

The next deadline for nominating a candidate for SPIE Senior Member is 15 April 2015.

The new SPIE Senior Members are listed below.

John Curtis Bellum, Sandia National Labs (USA)

Martin James Booth, University of Oxford (UK)

Edson da Costa Bortoni, Universidade Federal de Itajubá (Brazil)

Yun-Chorng Chang, National Cheng Kung University (Taiwan)

Panos George Datskos, Oak Ridge National Lab (USA)

Michael Douglass, Texas Instruments (USA)

Alexandre Xavier Falcão, Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Brazil)

Lynford Lawrence Goddard, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)

Kazimierz J. Gofron, Brookhaven National Lab (USA)

Andrii B. Golovin, City College of New York (USA)

Malcolm Charles Gower, Imperial College London (UK)

Barbara G. Grant, Lines and Lights Technology (USA)

Diofantos G. Hadjimitsis, Cyprus University of Technology (Cyprus)

Sivanandan Harilal, Purdue University (USA)

Douglas Hartnett, Raytheon EO Innovations (USA)

Emily M. Heckman, Air Force Research Lab (USA)

Travis Selby Humble, Oak Ridge National Lab (USA)

Anders Moller Jorgensen, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology (USA)

Ivan Kassamakov, University of Helsinki (Finland)

Myun-Sik Kim, SUSS MicroOptics (Switzerland)

Erik Klaas, 8tree (Germany)

Yi-sha Ku, Industrial Technology Research Institute (Taiwan)

Jonas G. Kühn, Jet Propulsion Lab (USA)

Mark E. Kushina, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems (USA)

Renat R. Letfullin, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (USA)

Henry Leung, University of Calgary (Canada)

Hwee San Lim, Universiti Sains Malaysia

Robert M. Malone, National Security Technologies (USA)

John M. Manning, Cypress Executive Consulting (USA)

Andrés Márquez, Universidad de Alicante (Spain)

Paul W. Melnychuck, Radikal Research (USA)

Leonid Muravsky, G.V. Karpenko Physico-Mechanical Institute (Ukraine)

Lorenzo Pavesi, Università degli Studi di Trento (Italy)

Ronald Alan Riley, Harris Corp. (USA)

John R. Rogers, Synopsys (USA)

Neil Rowlands, DEV International (Canada)

Stephen F. Sagan, NeoOptics (USA)

Jason D. Schmidt, MZA Associates (USA)

Bernard D. Seery, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center (USA)

Harry Sewell, Consultant (USA)

Efrain Solarte-Rodriguez, Universidad del Valle (Colombia)

Brian L. Stamper, Nikon Research Corp. of America (USA)

Koichi Takahashi, Olympus Corp. (Japan)

Kimani C. Toussaint, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)

David Douglas Walker, Glyndwr Innovations (UK)

Michael Renxun Wang, University of Miami (USA)

Michael C. Wanke, Sandia National Labs (USA)

Wei Wu, University of Southern California (USA)

Yonghua Wu, City College of New York (USA)

Timothy M. Yarnall, MIT Lincoln Lab (USA)

Ping Yu, University of Missouri-Columbia (USA)

Baohong Yuan, University of Texas at Arlington (USA)

Recent News
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?