2014 G.G. Stokes Award

J. Scott Tyo receives the 2014 G.G. Stokes Award

01 July 2014

SPIE Fellow J. Scott Tyo, a professor of optical sciences and electrical and computer engineering at University of Arizona (USA) is the recipient of the 2014 G.G. Stokes Award.

Tyo is receiving the award in recognition of his contributions to the theory of polarimeter optimization, the characterization and calibration of polarimeters, and to the understanding of microgrid polarimeter data processing. Most modern thought in these areas is influenced by his contributions to the field.

SPIE Member José Jorge Gil of Universidad de Zaragoza (Spain), recipient of the 2013 Stokes Award, called Tyo “an essential figure and a world reference in all scientific forums concerning polarimetry.”

Gil cited Tyo’s “exceptional set of contributions in this field, covering both the design of original instruments, which combine the most advanced optical technologies, and the latest techniques of exploitation of polarimetric measurements with applications in the optical range as well as in remote sensing.”

PHOTO OF Scott TyoTyo is the adviser to the SPIE Student Chapter at UA and has served on program committees at SPIE DSS and SPIE Optics + Photonics. He was a fellow of the University of Arizona’s Academic Leadership Institute in 2011-2012 and received the US Defense Intelligence Agency Chief Scientist’s Award for Excellence in 2007.

“Tyo can best be described as a ‘fireball’ in research and scholarship,” said SPIE Fellow and past SPIE President Eustace Dereniak. “His capability to implement the physics/optics theories into the practical domain is uncanny and creative. Most people do not have the capability to both develop new theories and implement these theories into practice.”

Read more about SPIE annual awards.

Nominate a colleague for SPIE awards

SPIE presents several annual awards that recognize individual and team technical accomplishments in optics and photonics and service to the Society.

Nominations may be made through 1 October and remain active for three years from the submission date, except for the SPIE Early Career Achievement Award and the Goodman Book Writing Award.

Nominations must be accompanied by:

  • Nomination form
  • Citation stating the accomplishments of nominee
  • Description of the significant aspects of nominee's career
  • Curriculum vitae listing educational background, positions held, publications, awards, honors, activities, and offices held within SPIE
  • At least two letters of reference, not from the nominator

SPIE awards banquet 20 August

SPIE President H. Philip Stahl will present the 2014 Society awards Wednesday, 20 August, at the annual awards banquet in San Diego, CA (USA).

Tickets to the 7:30 pm event cost $90 and can be purchased with registration or on site at SPIE Optics + Photonics.

Recent News
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?