SPIE 2014 Election

The SPIE 2014 election continues through 6 August.

01 July 2014

The SPIE 2014 election, conducted by electronic voting, continues through 6 August for members to select four new directors and vote on candidates for vice president and secretary/treasurer.

The candidates for vice president are SPIE Fellows:

SPIE Fellow Glenn D. Boreman, 2014 candidate for SPIE vice president

Glenn D. Boreman, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (USA)
SPIE Fellow Seung-Han Park, 2014 candidate for SPIE vice president

Seung-Han Park
, Yonsei University (Republic of Korea)

Boreman is director of the Center for Optoelectronics & Optical Communications at UNC, professor emeritus at University of Central Florida, and cofounder and chairman of Plasmonics Inc. His research interests are in IR detectors, systems, antennas, and frequency-selective surfaces; image-quality characterization; and modulation transfer function. He has served on the SPIE Board of Directors; the Education, Publications, and Kingslake Award committees; and the Editorial Advisory Board for SPIE Press. His PhD in optical science is from University of Arizona.

Park is director of the Pioneer Research Center for Neuro-Science & Technology, chairman of Yonsei Strategic Initiatives, and professor of physics at Yonsei University. His technical interests include surface plasmon photonics, confocal microscopy, near-field optics and photonics, and nonlinear pump-probe spectroscopy. Park has served on the SPIE Symposia, Publications, Strategic Planning, Education, and the Engineering, Science & Technology Policy committees. His PhD in optical science is from University of Arizona.

SPIE Senior Member Gary Spiegel, 2014 candidate for SPIE secretary/treasurerThe candidate for secretary/treasurer is SPIE Senior Member Gary Spiegel. Spiegel, recently retired as senior vice president of Newport Corp. (USA), has been a member of the SPIE Financial Advisory Committee since 2007. His technical activities and interests include opto-mechanical systems for research and industrial applications, precision manufacturing, technical management, and the business of optics. His BA in industrial marketing is from Baruch College, City University of New York (USA).

For director, the candidates are:

Julie Bentley, 2014 candidate for SPIE director

Julie Bentley, University of Rochester (USA)
SPIE Fellow Marc Himel, 2014 candidate for SPIE director

Marc Himel
Jenoptik Optical Systems (USA)
SPIE Fellow Brian Lula, 2014 candidate for SPIE director

Brian Lula, PI (Physik Instrumente) (USA)
SPIE Senior Member Andrew Rakich, 2014 candidate for SPIE director Andrew Rakich, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
SPIE Senior Member Kristen Maitland, 2014 candidate for SPIE director Kristen Maitland, Texas A&M University (USA) SPIE Senior Member Craig Olson, 2014 candidate for SPIE director

Craig Olson, L-3 Communications (USA)
SPIE Fellow Wolfgang Osten, 2014 candidate for SPIE director Wolfgang Osten, Institut für Technische Optik (Germany) SPIE Fellow Richard Youngworth, 2014 candidate for SPIE director

Richard Youngworth, Riyo (USA)

SPIE directors serve three-year terms and officers serve for one year.

Election results will be announced at the SPIE annual general meeting at SPIE Optics + Photonics in San Diego (USA) 19 August.

View election candidate statements and see video presentations of the vice-president candidates.

Previously elected officers for 2015
SPIE Fellow Toyohiko Yatagai is SPIE President for 2015
SPIE President Toyohiko Yatagai, director of the Center for Optical Research and Education at Utsunomiya University (Japan)
Robert Lieberman is SPIE President-Elect for 2015
SPIE President-Elect Robert Lieberman, president and CTO of Intelligent Optical Systems (USA)

Read more about leadership and governance at SPIE, or email governance@spie.org. 

Recent News
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?