2014 Dennis Gabor Award

Pramod Rastogi receives the 2014 Dennis Gabor Award

01 July 2014

SPIE Fellow Pramod Rastogi of the Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zürich) in Switzerland received the 2014 Dennis Gabor Award at SPIE Photonics Europe in April in recognition of his outstanding accomplishments in diffractive wavefront technologies.

Rastogi was honored for his groundbreaking research in the development of high-resolution and multi-component parametric phase formulation methods for the simultaneous estimation of multiple phases and their derivatives from holographic interference patterns.

SPIE President H. Philip Stahl (left) presents the Dennis Gabor Award to Pramod Rastogi.

“I consider Rastogi one of the undisputed leaders in the field of holography and optical metrology,” said SPIE Fellow Pietro Ferraro of the Istituto Nazionale di Ottica (Italy).

Rastogi has served as symposium, conference, and session chair at SPIE events, and he authored an extensive trilogy dedicated to optics in Switzerland in three 1995 issues of the SPIE journal Optical Engineering. He is also co-author of the 1996 SPIE Milestone Series book, Selected Papers on Electronic Speckle Pattern Interferometry, and has edited several notable books on optical metrology, including holography.

“The numerous books authored/edited by Professor Rastogi will influence the future development of optical metrology techniques,” said SPIE Fellow Mahendra Kothiyal of the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras.

His commitment to science and technology in building bridges at the institutional and international levels is reflected in the active role he played in laying groundwork for Switzerland’s collaboration with the Indian institutions of science and technology and serving as scientific adviser in a delegation accompanying the Swiss president’s 2003 visit to India.

Read more about SPIE annual awards.

Nominate a professional colleague for an SPIE award

SPIE presents several annual awards that recognize individual and team technical accomplishments in optics and photonics and service to the Society.

Nominations may be made through 1 October and remain active for three years from the submission date, except for the SPIE Early Career Achievement Award and the Goodman Book Writing Award.

Nominations must be accompanied by:

  • Nomination form
  • Citation stating the accomplishments of nominee
  • Description of the significant aspects of nominee's career
  • Curriculum vitae listing educational background, positions held, publications, awards, honors, activities, and offices held within SPIE
  • At least two letters of reference, not from the nominator

SPIE President H. Philip Stahl will present the 2014 Society awards Wednesday, 20 August, at the annual awards banquet in San Diego, CA (USA).

Tickets to the 7:30 pm event cost $90 and can be purchased with registration or on site at SPIE Optics + Photonics.

Recent News
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?