Kavli Prize nominations open

SPIE Newsroom

30 September 2013

Nominations for the Kavli Prize will be accepted through 1 December. The Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for advances in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience with a scroll, medal, and cash award of $1 million. The 2014 laureates will be announced in mid-2014, with the medals to be awarded during a ceremony in Oslo, Norway.

To review the nominations The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints a Kavli Prize Committee for each field, chaired by a member of the Academy. The other members are appointed by the Academy following proposals from the following bodies: The Chinese Academy of Sciences, The French Academy of Sciences, The Max Planck Society (Germany), The National Academy of Sciences (US), and The Royal Society (UK).

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience every other year on the basis of the recommendations of the three Kavli Prize Committees.

SPIE Fellows Jerry Nelson and Roger Angel were 2010 Kavli Laureates. Nelson -- founding director of the Center for Adaptive Optics at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and a Keck Observatory scientist -- and Angel -- founder and director of the University of Arizona Steward Observatory Mirror Lab -- shared the 2010 astrophysics prize with Raymond Wilson of the European Southern Observatory. They were among a group of seven recipients who met President Obama at the White House.

More information about the Kavli Prize from the Kavli Foundation.

Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?