Pendry, Hell named among Kavli Prize winners

SPIE Newsroom

29 May 2014

Nine pioneering scientists have been named this year's recipients of the Kavli Prizes, recognizing scientists for their seminal advances in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience.

This year's laureates were selected for pioneering the theory of cosmic inflation, for transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics and for the discovery of specialized brain networks for memory and cognition.

The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience is shared between Thomas W. Ebbesen, Université Louis Pasteur, Université de Strasbourg, France, Stefan W. Hell, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany, and Sir John B. Pendry, Imperial College London, UK.

They receive the prize "for transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics that have broken long-held beliefs about the limitations of the resolution limits of optical microscopy and imaging".

Stefan Hell (shown in 2011 SPIE interview above) is a frequent contributor to SPIE symposia, and serves on the program committees of the upcoming conference on Nanoimaging and Nanospectroscopy at SPIE Optics + Photonics (August 2014 in San Diego), as well as Multiphoton Microscopy in the Biomedical Sciences (February 2015 in San Francisco). Sir John Pendry (below, in 2011 SPIE interview) has also served on program committees for SPIE conferences on plasmonics and metamaterials.

The Kavli Prize is awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and consists of a cash award of 1 million US dollars in each field.

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics is shared between Alan H. Guth, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, Andrei D. Linde, Stanford University, USA, and Alexei A. Starobinsky, Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia. They receive the prize "for pioneering the theory of cosmic inflation". The theory of cosmic inflation, proposed and developed by the three prize winners, has revolutionized our thinking about the Universe.

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience is shared between Brenda Milner, Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University, Canada, John O'Keefe, University College London, UK, and Marcus E. Raichle, Washington University in St.Louis School of Medicine, USA. They receive the prize "for the discovery of specialized brain networks for memory and cognition".

Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?