• Explore Membership
  • Student Services
  • Student Events
    Student Chapters
    Application, Requirements and Criteria
    Named SPIE Scholarships
    Michael Kidger Scholarship
    Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship
    The Yaver Scholarship
    MKS Instruments Awards
    Student Author Travel Grants
    Visiting Lecturers
  • Early Career Resources
  • Corporate Membership
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Announces 2018 Scholarship Recipients

The Society awards $293,000 in education scholarships to 85 outstanding SPIE student members, based on their potential for long-range contribution to optics and photonics, or a related discipline. Award-winning applicants were evaluated and selected and approved by the SPIE Scholarship Committee. 

Through 2017, SPIE has distributed over $5.7 million dollars in individual scholarships. This ambitious effort reflects the Society's commitment to education and to the next generation of optical scientists and engineers around the world.

SPIE Scholarship Committee Chair and SPIE Senior Member, Jeremy Bos of Michigan Technological University (USA) offered his thanks to all students who applied and congratulations to the 2018 recipients.

"Every year, we take on the process of selecting awardees from an incredible group of smart, energetic, talented students," Bos said. "I want to thank the applicants, those who wrote helpful recommendations, and the members of the scholarship committee. I look forward to following the winners and all of our applicants as they contribute to the Society and to our field."

2018 Top Scholarship Winners:

The SPIE D.J. Lovell Scholarship was awarded to Elise Koskelo, Pomona College (United States). This is the Society's most prestigious scholarship.




Yichen Wu, University of California, Los Angeles (United States), was awarded the John Kiel Scholarship which was established to honor SPIE founding member John Kiel, in recognition of his long-standing and significant contributions to the society. This scholarship is sponsored by SPIE and is awarded for the student's potential for long-term contribution to the field of optics and optical engineering.


The Laser Technology, Engineering and Applications Scholarship was awarded to Adam Summers, Kansas State University (United States). This scholarship is awarded in recognition of a student's scholarly achievement in Laser Technology, Engineering, or Applications. Funds are provided in part by SPIE.


The Optical Design and Engineering Scholarship was awarded to Chufan Jiang, Purdue University (United States). The scholarship was established in memory of Bill Price and Warren Smith, both well-respected members of SPIE's technical community. This scholarship is awarded to a student in the field of optical design and engineering.


Zhenxu Bai, Macquarie University(Australia), is the recipient of the Teddi Laurin Scholarship. Photonics Media is partnering with SPIE to fund the Teddi Laurin Scholarship to raise awareness of optics and photonics and to foster growth and success in the photonics industry by supporting students involved in photonics. This new scholarship is in memory of Laurin Publishing and Photonics Media founder Teddi Laurin.

Scholarships of Related Interest

The Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Chris Maloney, currently enrolled in an MBA program at Messiah College for Strategic Leadership (United States). This Scholarship is awarded to those seeking an advanced degree that provides the business knowledge required to facilitate the advancement and application of optics and photonics research and technology. The scholarship honors the contributions and vision of the Yavers who were instrumental to the technical and financial success of the Society.



Caleb D. Gannon, The University of Arizona (USA) has been awarded the 2018 Michael Kidger Memorial Scholarship in Optical Design. This scholarship is supported by the Michael Kidger Memorial Fund in memory of Michael John Kidger, a well-respected educator, design software developer, and member of the optical science and engineering community. For more information, visit http://www.kidger.com/

Other 2018 and 2017 SPIE Scholarship Recipients:

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In

Member-only Content:

These articles are available only to SPIE Members as a valuable resource.
Member-only content Icon
Icon denotes member-only content.

The Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship

SPIE Online Courses

At Your Pace - On Your Schedule

SPIE t-shirts, ties, and scarves are now available. Get free shipping for a limited time. Shop now.

2018 Salary Report