• Explore Membership
  • Career Development
  • Student Services
  • Student Chapters
    Application, Requirements, and Criteria
    Named SPIE Scholarships
    Michael Kidger Scholarship
    Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship
    The Yaver Scholarship
    Student Conference Support
  • SPIE Member-Only Content
  • Corporate Membership
Print PageEmail Page

The Yaver Scholarship

The Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship

The Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship is intended for those seeking further education that provides “the business knowledge required to facilitate the advancement and application of optics and photonics research and technology.”

The $10,000 scholarship is available to SPIE Members and staff seeking an advanced degree or certificate from an accredited program. Examples include organizational management programs awarding master's degrees in non-profit management, business administration, and technology management; or continuing education programs offering certificates in business administration, program management, and data science and visualization. 

The scholarship honors the contributions and vision of the Yavers, who were instrumental to the technical and financial success of the Society.

The application window for the 2022 Yaver Scholarship has closed. Thank you to all who applied. The winner will be announced by June 2022. The 2023 application will open in fall 2022. 

Agnete and Joe Yaver

Joe Yaver, who died in November 2016, was the innovative executive director of SPIE from November 1969 until 1993. Agnete Yaver worked alongside her husband in building the foundation for SPIE’s current multidisciplinary, international scope, and advancing its mission.

Read the SPIE Professional article to learn more.

Learn more about Joe and Agnete's contributions to SPIE by downloading our booklet, Remembering Joe Yaver.

Scholarship Recipients

Alison Walker

2020 Recipient Alison Walker

SPIE staffer Alison Walker, a marketing project manager with the Society, received the 2020 Yaver Scholarship. She intends to use the award to pursue two certification courses available via Cornell University's online learning platform: a six-month Project Management Certificate, and a three-month Web Design and Development Certificate. During her studies, she'll maintain her current role with SPIE.

Read the SPIE press release to learn more.

2019 Recipient Bethany Johns

SPIE Member Bethany Johns, manager of government relations and public policy at the American Institute of Physics received the 2019 Yaver Scholarship. She used the funds to become a Certified Association Executive (CAE), through the America Society of Association Executives. 

Read the SPIE press release to learn more.

Bethany Johns

Chris Maloney

2018 Recipient Chris Maloney

Chris Maloney, a senior applications engineer at QED Technologies was the recipient of the inaugural Joe and Agnete Yaver Memorial Scholarship. Chris applied the scholarship toward the MBA program at Messiah College for Strategic Leadership.

Read the SPIE press release to learn more.

The Yaver Scholarship is one of several named SPIE scholarships that are funded by companies and individuals who partner with SPIE to serve its non-profit educational mission.

An amount of US$10,000 is awarded annually in May.