• Individual Members
  • Early Career Members
  • Student Members
  • Corporate Members
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • SPIE Professional Archives and Special Content
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Photonics for a Better World
    Open Access SPIE Professional
    Entrepreneurs SPIE Professional
  • Visiting Lecturers
  • Women In Optics
  • BACUS Technical Group
Print PageEmail Page
SPIE Professional October 2007

More SPIE Awards Announced

Bar-Cohen, Yoder are latest winners
Bar-Cohen Receives President's Award

Yoseph Bar-Cohen is this year's recipient of the SPIE President's Award. The award is given in recognition of unique and exemplary service of outstanding benefit to the Society and to the optics community.

Bar-Cohen, a long-time contributor to the field of electroactive polymers, has been recognized for his significant contributions to SPIE's interdisciplinary presence in the scientific community as the chair of the SPIE Smart Structures and Materials & Nondestructive Evaluation and Health Monitoring Symposium over the past eight years.

He is being recognized in particular for his ability to recognize opportunities for stimulating public interest in science and engineering through his imaginative ideas and events, such as the now famous arm wrestling robot.

Directors' Award to Yoder

In recognition of his remarkable dedication to the Society in many areas, the 2007 Directors' Award recipient is Paul R. Yoder Jr. He received this award for his service on the Board of Directors and numerous SPIE committees. He was also recognized for his work and organization of technical conferences and educational courses, which have been vital to the future of the Society and to the optical engineering community as a whole.

Yoder is a founding member of the SPIE Optomechanical Instrument Working Group, and has designed optical instruments for military, aerospace, commercial, and medical applications for more than 50 years. Yoder has published four books with SPIE Press, and teaches courses for industry, government agencies, societies, as well as having taught graduate-level courses at the University of Connecticut.

Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize

The Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize is annually presented in recognition of the most noteworthy original paper to appear the year before in the SPIE journal Optical Engineering. Award winners receive a citation and honorarium of $2,000.

Sergey S. Sarkisov, Michael J. Curley, LaQuieta Huey, Aisha Fields, Sergey S. Sarkisov II, and Grigory Adamovsky have received the 2006 Kingslake award for their paper "Light-driven actuators based on polymer films," from the March 2006 issue of Optical Engineering.

The paper describes new light-driven actuators based on films of polymer polyvinylidene fluoride. The paper demonstrates mechanical vibrations of a 1×7-mm strip actuator at a frequency of 0.3 kHz, using a photonic switch and an actuator with a closed-loop motion as examples.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4200710.13