• Individual Members
  • Early Career Members
  • Student Members
  • Corporate Members
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • SPIE Professional Archives and Special Content
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Photonics for a Better World
    Open Access SPIE Professional
    Entrepreneurs SPIE Professional
  • Visiting Lecturers
  • Women In Optics
  • BACUS Technical Group
Print PageEmail Page
SPIE Professional July 2012

SPIE Leadership Election 2012

The 2012 election for SPIE officers and members of the board of directors is being held through 3 August. SPIE members eligible to vote will receive an e-mail message with instructions on the electronic voting process prior to the election.

In accordance with a bylaw change, retired members of SPIE are now eligible to vote.

If you have not yet received your ballot, please e-mail SPIE.

Members will select four new directors and vote on candidates for vice president and secretary/treasurer. SPIE directors serve three-year terms and officers serve for one year.

Your vote is important. View videos of the SPIE vice presidential candidates.

The two candidates for SPIE vice president are:

Professor Yatagai John Pellegrino
Toyohiko Yatagai
Utsunomiya University (Japan)
John Pellegrino
Army Research Laboratory (USA)
Brian Lula

Brian Lula of Physik Instrumente LP (USA) is the nominee for re-election as secretary/treasurer.




SPIE Members will also choose four candidates for the Board of Directors from eight SPIE members nominated. The candidates are:

Ronald DriggersRonald Driggers, Naval Research Lab (USA)




Michael EismannMichael Eismann, Air Force Research Lab (USA)




Michael FiederleMichael Fiederle, Albert–Ludwigs Universität (Germany)




James FujimotoJames Fujimoto, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)




Christophe GoreckiChristophe Gorecki, Université de Franche-Comte (France)




Marc Nantel, candidate for the Board of DirectorsMarc Nantel, Niagara College (Canada)




Kathleen RichardsonKathleen Richardson, Clemson University (USA)




Siva Sivananthan Siva Sivananthan, University of Illinois at Chicago (USA)



The names of the winning candidates will be announced at the SPIE annual general meeting in San Diego (USA) 14 August.

The 2012 ballot does not list candidates for president or president-elect.

William Arnold
H. Philip Stahl
SPIE Fellow William Arnold of ASML US, president-elect for 2012, will be seated as president in 2013.  SPIE Fellow H. Philip Stahl, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center (USA), serving as vice president for 2012, will automatically become president-elect in 2013 and SPIE president in 2014.
Candidate for SPIE officer or director are members in good standing of SPIE and available to participate in three board meetings each year.

To make a recommendation, or for more information, e-mail governance@spie.org. Please include a paragraph stating why the person is qualified to serve.

For more information about leadership and governance at SPIE: spie.org/leadership.

Have a question or comment about this article? Write to us at spieprofessional@spie.org.  

To receive a print copy of SPIE Professional, the SPIE member magazine, become an SPIE member.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4201207.17

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In


 American Elements

LaCroix Optical logo

Optimax Systems logo

Photon Engineering logo

logo for Software Spectra

Synopsys logo 

University of Rochester, Institute of Optics

Place your organization name here! Reach a highly qualified audience and build visibility in the optics and photonics community by advertising in SPIE Professional

Like SPIE on Facebook

SPIE Facebook page

The SPIE Facebook page is a great place to find and share news on optics programs and photonics events.