• Individual Members
  • Early Career Members
  • Student Members
  • Corporate Members
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • SPIE Professional Archives and Special Content
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Photonics for a Better World
    Open Access SPIE Professional
    Entrepreneurs SPIE Professional
  • Visiting Lecturers
  • Women In Optics
  • BACUS Technical Group
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Professional July 2015

SPIE 2015 election

The following SPIE members are on the ballot for the Society's 2015 election, which is conducted online through 3 August.

SPIE members eligible to vote will select four new directors, a vice president, and a secretary/treasurer for terms beginning 1 January 2016. Directors serve three-year terms and officers serve for one year.

Candidates for Vice President are:
Maryellen Giger photo photo of John Greivenkamp
 Maryellen Giger

University of Chicago (USA)
 John Greivenkamp
University of Arizona (USA)

Both Giger and Greivenkamp are SPIE Fellows who have previously served on the SPIE Board of Directors and on several SPIE committees.

The videos of the SPIE vice president candidates provide more information.

photo of Gary Spiegel Gary Spiegel retired from Newport Corp. (USA), is the candidate for secretary/treasurer.

Spiegel has been a member of the SPIE Financial Advisory Committee since 2007 and holds a BA in industrial marketing from Baruch College, City University of New York (USA).

His technical activities and interests include opto-mechanical systems for research and industrial applications, precision manufacturing, technical management, and the business of optics.

Director candidates are:
photo of David Andrews photo of Jennifer Barton photo of Steve Eglash photo of Dr. Fujimoto
 David Andrews
University of East Anglia (UK)
 Jennifer Barton
University of Arizona (USA)
 Steve Eglash
Stanford University (USA)
 James Fujimoto
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
photo of Joseph Howard photo of Jay Kumler photo of Vengu Lakshminarayanan photo of DP Tsai
Joseph Howard
NASA, Goddard Space Flight Center (USA)
Jay Kumler
JENOPTIK Optical Systems, (USA)
Vasudevan (Vengu) Lakshminarayanan
University of Waterloo (Canada)
Din Ping Tsai, Academia Sinica (Taiwan

Other officers, previously elected, are SPIE President-Elect Robert Lieberman of Lumoptix (USA), who will become SPIE president in January 2016, and SPIE Vice President Glenn Boreman of University of North Carolina at Charlotte and Plasmonics Inc. (USA), who becomes president-elect next year.

The 2015 SPIE President, Toyohiko Yatagai (Japan), will become Immediate Past President in January. He will announce the results of the election at the SPIE annual general meeting during SPIE Optics+Photonics in San Diego (USA) 11 August.

Voting members of SPIE who have not yet received their ballot instructions should contact SPIE.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4201507.28

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In

About SPIE Professional

Advertising and Editorial Calendar
Contact SPIE Professional

Media Partner, International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies.

IYL logo

July 2015 Advertisers

Logo for Applied Optics Research

logo for Hamamatsu

logo for LaCroix Optical

logo for McGill University

Natsume logo

Photon Engineering logo

logo for Software Spectra

SPIE Professional supports the NPI

NPI supporter badge

Like SPIE on Facebook

SPIE Facebook page

The SPIE Facebook page is a great place to find and share news on optics programs and photonics events.