• Individual Members
  • Early Career Members
  • Student Members
  • Corporate Members
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • SPIE Professional Archives and Special Content
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Photonics for a Better World
    Open Access SPIE Professional
    Entrepreneurs SPIE Professional
  • Visiting Lecturers
  • Women In Optics
  • BACUS Technical Group
Print PageEmail Page
SPIE Professional July 2014

Jeff Squier wins 2014 Harold E. Edgerton Award

photo of Jeff Squier, SPIE award winner

SPIE member Jeff Squier of the Colorado School of Mines (USA) is the recipient of the 2014 Harold E. Edgerton Award in recognition of his seminal contributions to femtosecond lasers and amplifiers, laser filamentation, ultrafast spectroscopy, femtosecond micromachining, ophthalmic procedures with ultrafast lasers, and high-speed nonlinear optical microscopy.

“Working with Jeff was like watching an optics magician work miracles even though we knew it was based on his rigorous training in femtosecond-laser technology, combined with keen intelligence and a driving curiosity to explore new frontiers in optics,” said Paul Wiseman of McGill University (Canada), who worked with Squier at University of California, San Diego (USA).

“Jeff is not just a brilliant scientist, but also a very supportive mentor who really cared for the people who worked for him.”

His scientific achievements include demonstrating the first ti:sapphire-based regenerative amplifier for high-energy, ultrashort-pulse generation at the University of Rochester (USA).

His work at UC San Diego featured the first demonstration of time-resolved x-ray diffraction using a femtosecond-laser-produced plasma source and pioneering studies of multiphoton microscopy for bioimaging.

Squier also made significant contributions to nonlinear optical imaging by introducing a method to simultaneously capture nonlinear optical images from multiple depths.

Squier served on the program committee for the Commercial and Biomedical Applications of Ultrafast Lasers conference at SPIE Photonics West for several years. He has also served on the SPIE Awards Committee and has been published in the SPIE Journal of Biomedical Optics.

image for SPIE awardsSPIE presents several annual awards that honor individual and team technical accomplishments in optics and photonics and service to the Society.

Nominations may be made through 1 October and remain active for three years from the submission date, except for the SPIE Early Career Achievement Award and the Goodman Book Writing Award.

Nominations must be accompanied by:

  • Nomination form
  • Citation stating the accomplishments of nominee
  • Description of the significant aspects of nominee's career
  • Curriculum vitae listing educational background, positions held, publications, awards, honors, activities, and offices held within SPIE
  • At least two letters of reference, not from the nominator

SPIE President H. Philip Stahl will present the 2014 Society awards Wednesday, 20 August, at the annual awards banquet in San Diego, CA (USA). Tickets to the 7:30 pm event are $90 and can be purchased with registration or on site at SPIE Optics + Photonics.

Learn more about SPIE annual awards.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4201407.13

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In

July 2014 Advertisers

        Applied Optics Research

 DRS Technologies

Optimax logo

Photon Engineering logo

logo for Software Spectra

Synopsys logo

Zemax logo

Build visibility in the optics and photonics community and reach a highly qualified audience by advertising in SPIE Professional

Celebrate with SPIE

logo, IYL

SPIE Professional supports the NPI

NPI supporter badge

Like SPIE on Facebook

SPIE Facebook page

The SPIE Facebook page is a great place to find and share news on optics programs and photonics events.