• Individual Members
  • Early Career Members
  • Student Members
  • Corporate Members
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • SPIE Professional Archives and Special Content
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Photonics for a Better World
    Open Access SPIE Professional
    Entrepreneurs SPIE Professional
  • Visiting Lecturers
  • Women In Optics
  • BACUS Technical Group
Print PageEmail Page
SPIE Professional July 2014

Rajpal Sirohi receives the 2014 Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology

photo of Rajpal Sirohi

SPIE Fellow Rajpal Sirohi of Tezpur University (India), whose first PhD student in 1970 at the Indian Institute of Technology was the late Chandra S. Vikram, is the recipient of the 2014 Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology.

SPIE established the Vikram Award to honor the expert in speckle metrology, holography, interferometry, and optical logic shortly after he died in 2007.

Sirohi and Vikram published a dozen papers together on phase amplification using phase holograms, exposure reduction, and effect of non-linearity on hologram efficiency.

Sirohi, who is being recognized for his contributions to applied optics, is a senior editor of the SPIE journal, Optical Engineering, and has served on SPIE education, membership, and conference program committees.

“Sirohi’s research work in different areas of metrology and involvement in education together with his successful management career is highly recognized worldwide,” said SPIE Fellow Hans Tiziani of University of Stuttgart (Germany), who received the Vikram Award in 2012.

image for SPIE awardsSirohi was awarded membership in the International Order of Holo-Knights in 2005, and he received the SPIE Dennis Gabor Award in 2009, the Humboldt Research Award in 1996, and the International Commission for Optics’ Galileo Galilei Award in 1995. He was previously a Distinguished Scholar at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and professor at the Indian Institute of Technology.

“Professor Sirohi is very clearly recognized as extraordinary and holds international prominence among the world’s leading experts in our field,” added Ryszard Pryputniewicz of Worcester Polytechnic Institute (USA).

SPIE presents several annual awards that recognize individual and team technical accomplishments in optics and photonics and service to the Society.

Nominations may be made through 1 October and remain active for three years from the submission date, except for the SPIE Early Career Achievement Award and the Goodman Book Writing Award.

Nominations must be accompanied by:

  • Nomination form
  • Citation stating the accomplishments of nominee
  • Description of the significant aspects of nominee's career
  • Curriculum vitae listing educational background, positions held, publications, awards, honors, activities, and offices held within SPIE
  • At least two letters of reference, not from the nominator

SPIE President H. Philip Stahl will present the 2014 Society awards Wednesday, 20 August, at the annual awards banquet in San Diego, CA (USA).

Tickets to the 7:30 pm event cost $90 and can be purchased with registration or on site at SPIE Optics + Photonics.

Read more about SPIE annual awards.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4201407.22

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In

July 2014 Advertisers

        Applied Optics Research

 DRS Technologies

Optimax logo

Photon Engineering logo

logo for Software Spectra

Synopsys logo

Zemax logo

Build visibility in the optics and photonics community and reach a highly qualified audience by advertising in SPIE Professional

Celebrate with SPIE

logo, IYL

SPIE Professional supports the NPI

NPI supporter badge

Like SPIE on Facebook

SPIE Facebook page

The SPIE Facebook page is a great place to find and share news on optics programs and photonics events.