• Individual Members
  • Early Career Members
  • Student Members
  • Corporate Members
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • SPIE Professional Archives and Special Content
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Photonics for a Better World
    Open Access SPIE Professional
    Entrepreneurs SPIE Professional
  • Visiting Lecturers
  • Women In Optics
  • BACUS Technical Group
Print PageEmail Page
SPIE Professional April 2011

Voting for SPIE Leadership

The SPIE election for officers and members of the Board of Directors will be held from 27 June to 10 August. Members eligible to vote will receive an e-mail message with instructions on the electronic voting process.

Members will select four new directors and vote on candidates for vice president and secretary/treasurer. Directors serve three-year terms and officers serve for one year.

The candidates for vice president are:

• James Grote, Air Force Research Lab (USA)

• H. Philip Stahl, NASA (USA)

Brian Lula, Physik Instrumente LP (USA), is the nominee for secretary/treasurer.

SPIE members will choose four candidates for director from eight members nominated:

  • Henri-Jean Drouhin, École Polytechnique (France)
  • Judy Fennelly, Air Force Research Lab (USA)
  • Maryellen Giger, University of Chicago (USA)
  • Leonid Glebov, University of Central Florida (USA)
  • John Greivenkamp, University of Arizona (USA)
  • Fernando Mendoza Santoyo, Center de Investigaciones en Optica (Mexico)
  • Seung-Han Park, Yonsei University (South Korea)
  • Sergio Restaino, Air Force Research Lab (USA)

The election results will be announced at the SPIE annual general meeting in San Diego (USA) in August.

Ballots have changed

New for this election, the ballot will not list candidates for president or president-elect. Under the SPIE bylaws, the winning candidate for vice president automatically becomes president-elect the following year, and the president-elect for the current year becomes president the following year.

Thus, Eustace Dereniak of University of Arizona (USA), president-elect for 2011, will be seated automatically as president in 2012. William H. Arnold of ASML USA, serving as vice president for 2011, will automatically become president-elect for 2012.

Questions for the candidates?

If you would like to learn more about SPIE vice-president candidates Grote and Stahl to help decide your vote, send questions to governance@spie.org.

SPIE may use the questions and answers in an upcoming news release or article.

Nominations for next year

The SPIE nominating committee is now accepting recommendations for the 2012 election slate.

A candidate for SPIE officer or director must be a member in good standing of SPIE and available to participate in three board meetings each year.

To make a recommendation, or for more information, e-mail governance@spie.org. Please include a paragraph stating why the person is qualified to serve.

Have a question or comment about this article? Write to us at spieprofessional@spie.org.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4201104.07

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In