• Explore Membership
  • Student Services
  • Early Career Resources
  • Corporate Membership
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • Archives
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Editorial Calendar and Advertising
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Professional: Bonus Web Content

SPIE Members Elect Officers and Directors for 2009

Election results for new officers and directors of the Society were announced at the Annual General Meeting in San Diego, CA, 12 August.

SPIE President Kevin Harding announced election results for the SPIE member-leaders who will serve as officers and directors of the Society beginning in January 2009. All are SPIE Fellows. The announcement was made at the Annual General Meeting of the Society, 12 August.

photo of 2009 SPIE President Maria YzuelMaría J. Yzuel will serve as 2009 President. Yzuel is a professor with the Department of Physics, Group of Optics, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona (UAB), Spain. She received her PhD in Physics from the Universidad of Zaragoza, Spain. Her technical interests include diffraction image theory, image quality evaluation, apodization, applications to photolithography optical pattern recognition, and design of filters and liquid crystal devices.

Ralph B. James will serve as the 2009 President-Elect. James is Program Manager and Senior Scientist for the Brookhaven National Laboratory. He received his MS and PhD in Applied Physics at the California Institute of Technology. His technical interests are in photonic and electro-optical instrumentation, sensors, imaging, lasers, laser processing of materials, nanotechnology, nonlinear optics, semiconductor detectors, and biomedical imaging. James has 10 patents and is the editor of 13 books on sensors, spectroscopy, and imaging.

SPIE members elected Katarina Svanberg as 2009 Vice President. Svanberg is Professor of Oncology and Chief Physician in Oncology at Lund University, Lund, Sweden. She received her MD and PhD in Medical Science from Lund and is a recipient of the SKAPA Innovation Prize. She is interested in clinical oncology for the abatement of human malignant diseases and optical spectroscopy for detection and treatment of malignant tumors.

Brian A. Lula will serve another term as Secretary/Treasurer. Lula is the president and CEO of PI Physik Instrumente LP. He has a mechanical engineering degree from Centennial College, Ontario, Canada, and completed advanced engineering courses at the University of Michigan. A CCD astronomical imager/educator who was featured in the April issue of SPIE Professional magazine, his technical interests include micro and nanopositioning technologies, telescope mechanical/optical system design and fabrication, astronomical imaging, optical manufacturing, and testing.

Society Directors for 2009-2011 are:

  • Jennifer K. Barton, Associate Professor/Tissue Optics Lab Director, University of Arizona (USA)
  • Donis G. Flagello, ASML Fellow, ASML US, Inc. (USA)
  • Bahram Javidi, Distinguished Professor, University of Connecticut (USA)
  • Upendra N. Singh, Chief Technologist, NASA Langley Research Center (USA)
  • Hugo Thienpont, Director of Research, Vrije University Brussel (Belgium)

More information about the new SPIE officers

DOI: 10.1117/2.4200807.52

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In