• Explore Membership
  • Student Services
  • Early Career Resources
  • Corporate Membership
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • Archives
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Editorial Calendar and Advertising
Print PageEmail Page
SPIE Professional April 2012

SPIE Leadership Election 2012

The 2012 election for SPIE officers and members of the board of directors will be held from 13 June to 3 August. SPIE members eligible to vote will receive an e-mail message with instructions on the electronic voting process prior to the election.

In accordance with a bylaw change, retired members of SPIE are now eligible to vote.

Members will select four new directors and vote on candidates for vice president and secretary/treasurer.

The candidates for vice president are:
John Pellegrino, Army Research Laboratory (USA)
Toyohiko Yatagai, Utsunomiya University (Japan)

Your vote is important. View videos of the two SPIE vice presidential candidates.

Brian Lula of Physik Instrumente LP (USA) is the nominee for re-election as secretary/treasurer.

Members will also choose four candidates for the Board of Directors from eight SPIE members nominated:
Ronald Driggers, Naval Research Lab (USA)
Michael Eismann, Air Force Research Lab (USA)
Michael Fiederle, Albert–Ludwigs Universität (Germany)
James Fujimoto, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
Christophe Gorecki, Université de Franche-Comte (France)
Marc Nantel, Niagara College (Canada)
Kathleen Richardson, Clemson University (USA)
Siva Sivananthan, University of Illinois at Chicago (USA)

The 2012 ballot will not list candidates for president or president-elect.

SPIE Fellow William Arnold of ASML US, president-elect for 2012, will be seated as president in 2013, and SPIE Fellow H. Philip Stahl, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center (USA), serving as vice president for 2012, will automatically become president-elect in 2013.

The winning candidates for the other offices will be announced at the SPIE annual general meeting in San Diego (USA) 14 August. SPIE directors serve three-year terms and officers serve for one year.

Thinking ahead to 2013 SPIE Election

The SPIE nominating committee is now accepting recommendations for the 2013 election slate.

A candidate for SPIE officer or director must be a member in good standing of SPIE and available to participate in three board meetings each year. Candidates normally have an internationally recognized background in a technology area of interest to SPIE and significant leadership experience with the Society, such as committee membership, chairing of conferences, journal editor, etc.

To make a recommendation, or for more information, e-mail governance@spie.org. Please include a paragraph stating why the person is qualified to serve.

For more information about leadership and governance at SPIE: spie.org/leadership.

Have a question or comment about this article? Write to us at spieprofessional@spie.org.  

To receive a print copy of SPIE Professional, the SPIE member magazine, become an SPIE member.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4201204.03

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In

Like SPIE on Facebook

SPIE Facebook page

The SPIE Facebook page is a great place to find and share news on optics programs and photonics events.


Reach a highly qualified audience and build visibility in the optics and photonics community by advertising in SPIE Professional