• Explore Membership
  • Student Services
  • Early Career Resources
  • Corporate Membership
  • SPIE Professional Magazine
  • Archives
    Contact SPIE Professional
    Photonics for a Better World
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Professional April 2009

SPIE Elevates 59 to Fellow

SPIE Fellow

SPIE’s 59 new Fellows include the first Danish, Belarusian, and African Society members to be so honored for their significant and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging.

Jesper Glückstad is SPIE’s first Fellow from Denmark, and Sergey Maksimenko is the first SPIE Fellow from Belarus. Zohra Ben Lakhdar of Tunisia and Paul Buah-Bassuah of Ghana are the first representing Africa.

“The annual recognition of Fellows provides an opportunity for us to acknowledge outstanding members for their service,” says SPIE President María Yzuel.

Zohra Ben Lakhdar, director of the Laboratory of Atomic- Molecular Spectroscopy and Applications at the University of Tunis, right, receives congratulations on her election as a SPIE Fellow from Katepalli Sreenivasan at the Winter College on Optics in Environmental Science in Italy last February. The International Centre for Theoretical Physics sponsors the Winter College, which exposes young scientists from developing countries to recent achievements in optical science. SPIE is a major supporter.

Fellows are SPIE members honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community, and to SPIE in particular. They are recognized at SPIE meetings of their choice throughout the year. 

Fifteen of SPIE's new Fellows were named at a banquet at SPIE Photonics West: Francesco Baldini, Steve Boppart, Julian Bristow, Zhongping Chen, Thomas Dickinson, Jesper Glückstad, Claire Max, Risto Myllylä, Boon Ooi, Jacobus Oschmann, Andreas Ostendorf, Stanley Pau, and Alfred Vogel.

At SPIE Advanced Lithography earlier this year, six prominent members of the lithography community were honored as new Fellows of SPIE:

  • Franco Cerrina, University of Wisconsin, Madison, for advances in DNA synthesis, x-ray optics and EUVL
  • Ralph Dammel, AZ Electronic Materials, for his work on photoresist materials and processes
  • Brian Grenon, Grenon Consulting, for work on photomask advancement and development
  • Bruno La Fontaine, Advanced Micro Devices, for advancements in EUV and optical lithography
  • Lars Liebmann, IBM Microelectronics, for VLSI microelectronics
  • John Sturtevant, Mentor Graphics, for special achievements in lithography

New Fellows are also scheduled to be inducted at SPIE Defense, Security and Sensing, SPIE Optics + Photonics, and other SPIE meetings.

The complete list of 2009 SPIE Fellow recipients. For more information, including a Fellows nomination form and criteria, see spie.org/fellows.

DOI: 10.1117/2.4200904.40

Ready for the benefits of individual SPIE membership?
Join or Renew
Already a member? Get access to member-only content.
Sign In