• Photomask Technology + Extreme Ultraviolet Lithography
    Award Winners
    Plan to Participate
    Conference and Award Sponsors
    Special Events
    Travel to Monterey
    Onsite Services
    Incident Reporting
    SPIE Event Policies
    For Authors and Presenters
    For Exhibitors
Monterey Conference Center and Monterey Marriott
Monterey, California, United States
15 - 19 September 2019
Print PageEmail Page

2018 Award Winners

Winners were announced at SPIE Photomask Technology + EUV Lithography 2018 in Monterey, California.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is given in recognition of an individual who has, during their lifetime, through inventions or other activities over the course of their career, made a significant impact on the technology of mask making.

Was presented to:
Frank E. Abboud, SPIE Fellow, Intel Corp.

Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Frank Abboud

For his thirty+ years of significant contributions in all areas of photomask technology, more specifically for his leadership in the development of advanced e-beam pattern generation. He has been President and Vice President of BACUS and Chair of the BACUS Symposium.

2018 BACUS Prize

Was presented to:
Tsuneo Terasawa
Hidehiro Watanabe, 
Hiroki Miyai, 

2018 BACUS Prize winners

In recognition of their contributions in advancing the Mask Industry through Innovation: Concept, Development, and Commercialization of the EUV Actinic Blank Inspection (ABI) System


Zeiss Award for Best Student Poster
EUVL and Photomask

Zeiss Award for Best Student Poster, 1st place

Automated rough line-edge estimation from SEM images using deep convolutional neural networks (First place)
Narendra Chaudhary, Serap A. Savari, Sai Swaroop Yeddulapalli
Texas A&M Univ. (United States) [10810-56]

Pattern degradation with larger particles on EUV pellicle (Second place)
Hee-Ra No, Sung-Gyu Lee, Hye-Keun Oh
Hanyang Univ. (Korea, Republic of) [10809-51]

Using 3D Monte Carlo simulation to develop resists for next-generation lithography (Third place)
Hayden Alty, Scott Lewis, Richard E. P. Winpenny, Stephen Yeates
The Univ. of Manchester (United Kingdom) [10810-36]

Award sponsored by 


Photronics Awards for Best Student Oral Presentation
EUVL and Photomask

Overall winner

Photronics Awards for Best Student oral presentation, overall winner

Rapid image-based pupil plane characterization for EUV lithography systems
Zachary Levinson, Rochester Institute of Technology (United States)
Erik Verduijn, Timothy A. Brunner, Obert Wood, GLOBALFOUNDRIES Inc.(United States)
Bruce W. Smith, Rochester Institute of Technology (United States


Advanced modeling of anisotropic stochastics in EUV resist
Luke Long, Andrew Neureuther, Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
PatrickNaulleau, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)

EUV mask characterization with actinic scatterometry
Stuart Sherwin, Andrew Neureuther, Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
Patrick Naulleau, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)

Deep supervised learning to estimate true rough line images from SEM images
Narendra Chaudhary, Serap A. Savari, Sai Swaroop Yeddulapalli, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)

Award sponsored by 


And announcing...

Congratulations to all winners

Best Conference Posters
EUVL and Photomask

Studying resist performance for contact holes printing using EUV interference lithography
Xiaolong Wang, Li-Ting Tseng, Dimitrios Kazazis, Zuhal, Tasdemir, Michaela Vockenhuber, Iacopo Mochi, Yasin Ekinci, Paul Scherrer Institut (Switzerland)

Multiple exposure on single blank for electron-beam writer characterization
Andre Eilert, Michael Finken, Christian Buergel, Mark Herrmann, Ronald Hellriegel, Rico Nestler, Oliver Loeffler, Frank Huebenthal, Rico Buettner, Katja Steidel, Advanced Mask Technology Ctr. GmbH Co. KG (Germany)

Pattern edge roughness study on OMOG mask repair
Xuefei Qin, Jie Wang, Irene Shi, Fen Xue, Alan Li, Wenjun Ling, Elena Cong, Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corp. (China)

Best Conference Oral Presentation

Design and implementation of the next-generation electron-beam resists for the production of EUVL photomasks
Scott Lewis, The Univ. of Manchester (United Kingdom)
Guy DeRose, Matthew Hunt, Axel Scherer, The Kavli Nanoscience Institute, Caltech (United States)
Stephen Yeates, Richard E. P. Winpenny, Hayden R Alty, The Univ. of Manchester (United Kingdom)
Alex Werthiem, Jarvis Li, Trevor Fowler, Sangkook Lee, The Kavli Nanoscience Institute (United States)

The self-driving photomask
James P. Shiely, Synopsys, Inc. (United States)

Novel EUV mask absorber evaluation in support of next-generation EUV imaging
Vicky Philipsen, Vu Luong, Karl Opsomer, imec (Belgium)
Andreas Erdmann, Peter Evanschitzky, Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Systeme und Bauelementetechnologie IISB (Germany)
Frank Scholze, Christian Laubis, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Robbert W. E. van de Kruijs, Zahra Heidarnia-Fathabad, Univ. Twente (Netherlands)
Eric Hendrickx, imec (Belgium)