Print PageEmail Page

    Several SPIE innovators named 2016 National Academy of Inventors Fellows

    13 December 2016

    Guillermo Kaufmann
    2016 NAI Fellows

    The US National Academy of Inventors announced its 2016 Fellows on 13 December. The 175 leaders of academic invention include seven SPIE Fellows, including 2016 SPIE Gold Medal recipient Paras Prasad, and three SPIE members.

    The NAI describes election to NAI Fellow status as the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society. According to the 2016 NAI Activities Report, NAI Fellows have generated more than 8,500 licensed technologies and companies and created more than 1.1 million jobs, with over $100 billion in revenue generated based on their discoveries.

    The complete list of SPIE members named NAI Fellows:

    • SPIE Fellow Zhenan Bao of Stanford University. Her work with organic semiconductors and flexible electronic materials has found applications in medical devices, energy storage and environmental sensing. She is a cofounder of C3Nano which develops transparent, conductive inks and films.
    • SPIE Fellow Philippe Fauchet, dean of the School of Engineering at Vanderbilt University. His research centers around silicon-based nanoscience and nanotechnology, including silicon-based light sources and lasers and silicon photonic crystal structures for optical modulation and switching.
    • SPIE Member David Huang, director of the Center for Ophthalmic Optics and Lasers at Oregon Health & Science University and founder of Gobiquity Mobile Health. He is a co-inventor of optical coherence tomography (OCT) and a pioneer in anterior segment OCT and OCT angiography.
    • SPIE Fellow Francis Ligler of North Carolina State University. She is a pioneer in the fields of biosensors and microfluidics.
    • SPIE Fellow Seth Marder, founding director of the Center for Organic Photonics and Electronics at Georgia Institute of Technology. He is best known for developing a detailed understanding of the relationship between chemical structure and nonlinear optical properties of organic materials.
    • SPIE Fellow Nasser Peyghambarian of University of Arizona who has founded two companies, TIPD and NP Photonics. His research group works in the areas of 3-D display, vision optics, nanoscale materials and devices, solar energy, and optical communications and the internet.
    • SPIE Fellow Paras Prasad,executive director of the Institute for Lasers, Photonics and Biophotonics at University at Buffalo, SUNY. He has been actively involved in nine startups that develop light-activated nanoparticles.
    • SPIE Member Sudeep Sarkar, chair of the Department of Computer Science & Engineering at University of South Florida. He developed a medical imaging device to diagnose melanoma and other diseases and has been a pioneer in gait biometrics, identity detection, and sign-language translation.
    • SPIE Fellow Michael Shur of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Shur is a recognized leader in solid-state electronics, deep UV LED technology, and plasmonic THz detectors.
    • SPIE Member David Smith, , director of the Center for Metamaterial and Integrated Plasmonics at Duke University. While at University of California, San Diego, in 2000, Smith and his colleagues demonstrated the first negative index metamaterial at microwave frequencies. In 2006, Smith and his research group at Duke demonstrated an “invisibility cloak.”

    For more information: