SPIE G.G. Stokes Award in Optical Polarization

The SPIE G. G. Stokes Award in Optical Polarization is presented for exceptional contribution to the field of optical polarization. The award may be presented for a specific achievement, development, or invention of significant importance to optical science and society, or may be given for lifetime achievement. Honorarium $2,000.

Sir George Gabriel Stokes (August 13, 1819 – February 1, 1903) was an Irish physicist and mathematician. Born in Ireland, Stokes spent all of his career at the University of Cambridge, where he served as Lucasian Professor of Mathematics from 1849 until his death in 1903. In physics, Stokes made seminal contributions to physical optics and polarized light. He derived an expression, now known as Stokes's Law, for the frictional/drag force exerted on spherical objects with very small Reynolds numbers in a viscous fluid.


Miguel A. Alonso
Centrale Marseille, Institut Fresnel, France and The Institute of Optics - University of Rochester, United States

For pioneering work in the mathematical description of unconventional and non-paraxial polarization states.

Past Recipients

2022 - Alex Vitkin
2021 - Nirmalya Ghosh
2020 - Tatiana Novikova
2019 - Joseph Shaw
2018 - Tom Baur
2017 - Christian Brosseau
2016 - Shui-Chih Alan Lien
2015 - Aristide Dogariu
2014 - J. Scott Tyo
2013 - José Jorge Gil
2012 - Jan Olof Stenflo
2011 - Johannes Fitzgerald de Boer
2010 - Emil Wolf
2008 - Shin-Tson Wu
2007 - Russell Chipman
2006 - Kazuhiko Oka
2005 - Rasheed M. A. Azzam
2004 - R. Clark Jones