• About the Society
  • Community Support
  • Advocacy
  • Get Involved
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

David Andrews of University of East Anglia elected to SPIE presidential chain

New vice president leader in nanophotonics and quantum electrodynamics

22 August 2018

David Andrews

SAN DIEGO, California, USA — SPIE Fellow David L. Andrews, Professor at the University of East Anglia, United Kingdom, has been elected to serve as the 2019 Vice President of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics. With his election, Andrews joins the SPIE presidential chain and will serve as President-Elect in 2020 and as the society's President in 2021.

SPIE 2018 President Maryellen Giger, University of Chicago, made the announcement along with other SPIE election results at the Annual General Meeting of the Society on 21 August during SPIE Optics + Photonics in San Diego. Terms begin 1 January 2019.

Andrews has served on numerous SPIE committees including as current Chair of the Publications Committee, and former Chair of the Symposia Committee. He was an elected member of the SPIE Board of Directors from 2016-2018.  

Andrews received his BSc in Chemistry, and his PhD in Quantum Electrodynamics at the University College London.  He is the leader of a nanophotonics and quantum electrodynamics research group, and his technical interests include laser interactions, quantum and nonlinear optics, molecular photonics and chirality, structured light, polarization spectroscopy, electro-optics and quantum electrodynamics.  

He is a Chartered Physicist and Fellow of the Institute of Physics, a Chartered Chemist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and received the Ramsay Gold Medal for research.  

Jim Oschmann, recently retired Vice President and General Manager Civil Space, at Ball Aerospace will serve as 2019 President; John Greivenakamp, a professor at the College of Optical Sciences, The Univ. of Arizona will serve as 2019 President-Elect; and Jason Mulliner, Chief Financial Officer at Alluxa Inc. will serve as the 2019 Secretary/Treasurer. The newly elected Society Directors, who will serve three-year terms for 2019-2021, are:

  • Julia Craven, Sandia National Labs.
  • Peter de Groot, Zygo Corporation
  • Marta de la Fuente, ASE Optics Europe
  • Judy Ann Fennelly, Air Force Research Lab

The SPIE nominating committee accepts recommendations for the election slate on an ongoing basis. Directors, who serve a three-year term, are expected to attend and participate in three board meetings each year. To make a recommendation, or for more information, email governance@spie.org.

About SPIE SPIE is the international society for optics and photonics, an educational not-for-profit organization founded in 1955 to advance light-based science, engineering, and technology. The Society serves nearly 264,000 constituents from approximately 166 countries, offering conferences and their published proceedings, continuing education, books, journals, and the SPIE Digital Library. In 2017, SPIE provided more than $4 million in support of education and outreach programs. www.spie.org


Stacey Crockett
Media Relations Coordinator
Governance Specialist
+1 360 685 5458