SPIE announces 2016 award recipients for achievements in optics and photonics

Gold Medal of the Society goes to the State University of New York professor Paras Prasad

06 April 2016

BELLINGHAM, Washington, USA -– The Awards Committee of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, has announced the 2016 recipients in its prestigious annual awards program. Technical accomplishments are recognized by these awards, along with meritorious service to the Society.

Award winners for 2016 are:

Paras Prasad
Paras Prasad

Gold Medal of the Society: Paras Prasad, University at Buffalo, SUNY, for numerous world-renowned, pioneering contributions to nonlinear optics, nanophotonics, and biophotonics, as well as over three decades of outstanding service to SPIE. The Gold Medal is the society's highest honor.

Britton Chance Biomedical Optics Award: David Boas, Harvard Medical School, Harvard University, and Massachusetts General Hospital, for development, application, and dissemination of near-infrared spectroscopy and imaging for imaging breast cancer and the functioning brain, and for his perseverance in developing several innovative microscopic methods to further advance our knowledge of cerebral physiology. Boas received his award at SPIE Photonics West in February.

A.E. Conrady Award: Lacy Cook, Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems, for advancing the realm of reflective design forms over the course of more than 30 years of experience in the design of optical systems.

Harold E. Edgerton Award: Christopher Barty, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, for his efforts in the development of foundational techniques that have enabled ultrafast, intense lasers and for pioneering contributions to time-resolved, x-ray. and gamma-ray science conducted with such lasers.

Dennis Gabor Award: Ting-Chung Poon, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, for pioneering contributions to optical scanning holography (OSH), which has contributed significantly to the development of novel digital holography and 3D imaging.

George W. Goddard Award: Supriya Chakrabarti, University of Massachusetts, Lowell, for work as an innovative scientist, a visionary physicist, a scholar of extraordinary insight, and an extraordinary role model.

G.G. Stokes Award: Shui-Chih Alan Lien, ShenZhen Star Optoelectronic Technology Co. Ltd., for contributions to develop extended Jones matrix formulation which has been widely used to calculate the polarization change through each layer and electro-optic effects of a liquid crystal display device.

Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology: James Trolinger, MetroLaser Inc., for pioneering development and fielding of laser-based, state-of-the-art optical diagnostic methods.

Frits Zernike Award in Microlithography: Yan Borodovsky, for the advancement of multi-generational lithography process solutions and as a key contributor of patterning approaches and layout design rules at Intel. Borodovsky received his award at SPIE Advanced Lithography in April.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award – Academic: Jie Yao, University of California, Berkeley, for the investigation of light matter interaction at deep subwavelength scale and development of optical materials for nanophotonic applications.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award—Industry: Homan Yuen, NewGen Venture Partners, for the advancement of the dilute nitride semiconductor materials system and commercialization of world-record multi-junction solar cells.

SPIE Educator Award: Cheng Chung (C. C.) Lee, National Central University, for contributions to the growth of the Institute of Optical Sciences and the Department of Optics and Photonics at the National Central University in Taiwan, promoting advances in the science and engineering of optical thin films and coatings through mentoring students and industry personnel, and inspiring high school students to study optics and photonics.

SPIE Technology Achievement Award: Kent Choquette, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, for development of high-performance vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers, particularly the invention of the practical oxide-confined VCSEL which has been widely deployed in data communication optical links within the internet, data centers, and supercomputer applications.

Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award: Valery Tuchin, N.G. Chernyshevsky Saratov State University, for Tissue Optics: Light Scattering Methods and Instruments for Medical Diagnosis, 3rd ed., published by SPIE Press in 2015. The award is co-sponsored with OSA.

For future awards, members of the photonics community may nominate colleagues to recognize their outstanding achievements. Nominations may be made through 1 October of any given year and are considered active for three years from the submission date. Instructions and nomination forms are at www.spie.org/x1164.xml.

About SPIE

SPIE is the international society for optics and photonics, an educational not-for-profit organization founded in 1955 to advance light-based science, engineering, and technology. The Society serves nearly 264,000 constituents from approximately 166 countries, offering conferences and their published proceedings, continuing education, books, journals, and the SPIE Digital Library. In 2015, SPIE provided more than $5.2 million in support of education and outreach programs. www.spie.org



Amy Nelson
Public Relations Manager
+1 360 685 5478

All photos © SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, except where noted.