• About the Society
  • Community Support
  • Advocacy
  • Get Involved
  • International Day of Light
  • SPIE IDL Logo
    SPIE IDL 2020 Bingo
    SPIE IDL Resources
    SPIE IDL Micro Grants
    SPIE IDL Photo Contest
    IDL 2019 Celebrations
    International Year of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Jobs at SPIE
  • Online Donation
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE International Day of Light Micro Grants

SPIE International Day of Light (IDL) Micro Grants

Requirements for the 2021 grant cycle

The International Day of Light is a global initiative highlighting to the citizens of the world the importance of light and light-based technologies in their lives, for their futures, and for the development of society. SPIE IDL Micro Grants will support local community events and activities that highlight the critical role that light plays in our daily lives.

The IDL Micro Grant review process is competitive. The maximum grant amount is $3,000 (USD) with many partial grants awarded each year.

SPIE is now accepting applications for grants celebrating IDL 2021.

   •  SPIE IDL Micro Grants are available to SPIE Members only. Membership must be active through 30 June 2021.

   •  The grant application must highlight the critical role that light plays in our daily lives.

   •  Events or activities must take place during May 2021.

   •  The application must be completed and submitted by 5:00 PM (PST) 1 December 2020.

   •  Winners will be notified by 31 January 2021.

   •  A report to the Society on how the grant was used must be submitted by 31 July 2021.

Learn more and apply  ›


Only applications with events and activities highlighting the critical role that light plays in our daily lives and that are taking place during May 2021 will be submitted for consideration.

Incomplete applications or events and activities that are not taking place during May 2021 will not be submitted for consideration.

Have questions? Need more information? Email us at outreach@spie.org.

Congratulations 2020 SPIE IDL Micro Grant Recipients

Our 2020 grant recipients include:

   • Tayyab Malik and the Center of Advanced Studies in Health & Technology (Pakistan)

   • Latifah Maasarani and the Duke University SPIE Student Chapter (United States)

   • Jessica Dempsey and the East Asian Observatory (United States)

   • Jianying Hao and Fujian Normal University Club (China)

   • Kseniia Minakova and the National Technical University Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute (Ukraine)

   • Jack Schumann and Optics Valley/SOCK at Optical Sciences Center (United States)

   • Guillermo Sanchez and the Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon SPIE Student Chapter (Mexico)

   • Jhamal Salazar and Universidad Central de Venezuela SPIE Chapter (Venezuela)

   • Cristian Lopera Trujillo and the Universidad EAFIT (Colombia)

   • Guillaume Allain and the Université Laval SPIE Student Chapter - REPOL (Canada)

   • Xindi Wang and the University of Auckland SPIE Student Chapter (New Zealand)

   • George Dobre and the University of Kent (United Kingdom)

   • Danuta Sampson and the University of Surrey (United Kingdom)

   • Elisabet Perez-Cabre and the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)