Hilton Long Beach
Long Beach, California, United States
7 - 10 March 2021
Awards Events
2021 SSM/NDE Lifetime Achievement Awards
Date: Monday 8 March 2021
Time: 8:20 AM - 8:30 AM PST
2021 NDE Lifetime Achievement Award presented to

Paul D. Wilcox, Univ. of Bristol (United Kingdom)

Biography: Paul Wilcox received an MEng degree in Engineering Science from the University of Oxford (1994) followed by a PhD from Imperial College London (1998). He is currently Professor of Dynamics at the University of Bristol. He held an EPSRC Advanced Research Fellowship (2007-12), was Head of the Mechanical Engineering Department (2015-18) and is a Fellow of the Alan Turing Institute for Data Science. In 2015 he co-founded Inductosense Ltd., a spin-out company commercialising inductively-coupled embedded ultrasonic sensors. His research interests include array transducers, embedded sensors, guided waves, structural health monitoring, elastodynamic scattering, signal processing and machine learning.

2021 SSM Lifetime Achievement Award presented to

Kwang Jin Kim, Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas (United States)

Biography: Kwang J. (Jin) Kim is a Distinguished Professor of the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas (UNLV). Prior to joining the UNLV, he was with the University of Nevada-Reno (UNR) as a UNR Foundation Professor and Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department. His research interests in smart materials include ionic polymer-metal composites, PVC gels, and their respective applications in soft-robotics and biomimetics. He received his bachelor’s degree from Yonsei University in 1987, and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Arizona State University in 1989 and 1992, respectively. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors and ASME.
SPIE Best Student Paper Awards
Date: Wednesday 10 March 2021
Time: 8:15 AM - 8:20 AM PST
SPIE is sponsoring the Best Student Paper contest. Papers will be presented in a special Session on Tuesday afternoon. Entrants will be judged by a committee from SPIE. The committee will then vote to determine the top three finalists. The top three finalist student authors and/or student co-authors will receive certificates and cash awards.

For more information regarding participant eligibility and submission instructions, please visit the Smart Structures + Nondestructive Evaluation Awards webpage.
Bioinspiration, Biomimetics, and Bioreplication Best Student Paper Award: In Memory of H. Don Wolpert
Date: Wednesday 10 March 2021
Time: 8:20 AM - 8:25 AM PST
The Bioinspiration, Biomimetics, and Bioreplication VIII conference chairs will choose the Best Student Paper Award from their conference. This award is sponsored by the Optical Society of Southern California. A cash prize will be given to the first, second, and third place winners.

Sponsored by:
EAP-In-Action Demonstration Awards
Date: Wednesday 10 March 2021
Time: 8:25 AM - 8:30 AM PST
As part of the EAPAD conference of the SPIE Smart Structures/NDE symposia, the EAP-in-Action Demonstration Session has been held over the past 22 years. In an effort to encourage excellence in developing the Electroactive Polymers (EAP) demonstrations and accelerate the transition of EAPs to practical and commercial technologies, award certificates have been issued since the 2018 SPIE Smart Structures/NDE symposium. A judging committee, consisting of leading EAP experts, will select the award winners among the presenters at the EAP-in-Action Demonstration Session. The judges will assess the presenters’ performance as well as the quality and content of the demos. The top ranked three will be recognized and will be awarded certificates.
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?