Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Orlando, Florida, United States
11 - 15 April 2021
Conference SI201
Anomaly Detection and Imaging with X-Rays (ADIX) VI
Sunday - Thursday 11 - 15 April 2021 Conference Committee
Important Dates
Abstract Due:
21 October 2020

Author Notification:
18 December 2020

Manuscript Due Date:
17 March 2021

Call for
X-ray imaging has its beginning in medical imaging. However, advances in x-ray component technology coupled with the exponential growth in computational capability has fueled the expansion of x-ray imaging to numerous defense and security applications. For example, x-ray based imaging system are now widely deployed at security checkpoints and air-cargo screening at airports, seaports, commercial and military building/installations. Another modern application of x-ray imaging is non-destructive part inspection for industrial and aviation safety. Recently, there has been a growing interest in Opioid detection with X-rays. While the application base for x-ray based anomaly detection and imaging continues to grow the x-ray imaging system architecture, inspired by computed tomography (CT) for medical imaging, has remained largely unchanged. However, recently non-traditional x-ray imaging architectures and sophisticated post-processing algorithms have begun to emerge which leverage recent advances in mathematical theory of sampling (e.g. compressive sensing) together with increasing exploitation of available signal and task prior information. This conference provides an open forum for researchers from academia, industry and government to address current/future challenges by sharing latest advances in all aspects of x-ray based anomaly detection and imaging, ranging from component technology, reconstruction and data exploitation algorithms, imaging/sensing system architectures to system performance metrics and novel defense and security applications.
Conference Committee
Conference Chairs
Program Committee
  • Mark A. Anastasio, Washington Univ. in St. Louis (United States)
  • Gonzalo R. Arce, Univ. of Delaware (United States)
  • Ali Bilgin, The Univ. of Arizona (United States)
  • Eric W. Clarkson, The Univ. of Arizona (United States)
  • Mini Das, Univ. of Houston (United States)
  • Edward D. Franco, Rapiscan Systems Labs. (United States)

Program Committee continued...
  • Christopher W. Gregory, Smiths Detection Inc. (United States)
  • Tim E. Harvey, EMF Corp. (United States)
  • Harry E. Martz, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
  • Joseph A. O'Sullivan, Washington Univ. in St. Louis (United States)
  • Sean Pang, CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, Univ. of Central Florida (United States)
  • Lei Tian, Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
  • Laura Waller, Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
  • Sharene Young, U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security (United States)
  • Yunhui Zhu, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ. (United States)

Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?