Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Combined characterization techniques to understand the stability of a variety of organic photovoltaic devices: the ISOS-3 inter-laboratory collaboration
Author(s): Monica Lira-Cantu; David M. Tanenbaum; Kion Norrman; Eszter Voroshazi; Martin Hermenau; Matthew T. Lloyd; Gerardo Teran-Escobar; Yulia Galagan; Birger Zimmermann; Markus Hösel; Henrik F. Dam; Mikkel Jørgensen; Suren Gevorgyan; Laurence Lutsen; Dirk Vanderzande; Harald Hoppe; Roland Rösch; Uli Würfel; Ronn Andriessen; Agnès Rivaton; Gülşah Y. Uzunoğlu; David Germack; Birgitta Andreasen; Morten V. Madsen; Eva Bundgaard; Frederik C. Krebs
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

This work is part of the inter-laboratory collaboration to study the stability of seven distinct sets of state-of-the-art organic photovoltaic (OPVs) devices prepared by leading research laboratories. All devices have been shipped to and degraded at the Danish Technical University (DTU, formerly RISO-DTU) up to 1830 hours in accordance with established ISOS-3 protocols under defined illumination conditions. In this work we present a summary of the degradation response observed for the NREL sample, an inverted OPV of the type ITO/ZnO/P3HT:PCBM/PEDOT:PSS/Ag/Al, under full sun stability test. The results reported from the combination of the different characterization techniques results in a proposed degradation mechanism. The final conclusion is that the failure of the photovoltaic response of the device is mainly due to the degradation of the electrodes and not to the active materials of the solar cell.

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 October 2012
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 8472, Reliability of Photovoltaic Cells, Modules, Components, and Systems V, 847203 (16 October 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.929579
Show Author Affiliations
Monica Lira-Cantu, CIN2, CSIC (Spain)
David M. Tanenbaum, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Pomona College (United States)
Kion Norrman, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Eszter Voroshazi, IMEC (Belgium)
Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)
Martin Hermenau, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Matthew T. Lloyd, National Renewable Energy Lab. (United States)
Gerardo Teran-Escobar, CIN2, CSIC (Spain)
Yulia Galagan, Holst Ctr. (Netherlands)
Birger Zimmermann, Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme (Germany)
Markus Hösel, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Henrik F. Dam, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Mikkel Jørgensen, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Suren Gevorgyan, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Laurence Lutsen, IMEC (Belgium)
Dirk Vanderzande, Univ. Hasselt (Belgium)
Harald Hoppe, Technische Univ. Ilmenau (Germany)
Roland Rösch, Technische Univ. Ilmenau (Germany)
Uli Würfel, Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme (Germany)
Ronn Andriessen, Holst Ctr. (Netherlands)
Agnès Rivaton, Univ. Blaise Pascal (France)
Gülşah Y. Uzunoğlu, TÜBITAK National Metrology Institute (Turkey)
David Germack, Brookhaven National Lab. (United States)
Birgitta Andreasen, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Morten V. Madsen, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Eva Bundgaard, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Frederik C. Krebs, Technial Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8472:
Reliability of Photovoltaic Cells, Modules, Components, and Systems V
Neelkanth G. Dhere; John H. Wohlgemuth, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?