Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

LINC-NIRVANA for the LBT: setting up the world's largest NIR binoculars for astronomy
Author(s): Ralph Hofferbert; Harald Baumeister; Thomas Bertram; Jürgen Berwein; Peter Bizenberger; Armin Böhm; Michael Böhm; José Luis Borelli; Matthieu Brangier; Florian Briegel; Albert Conrad; Fulvio De Bonis; Roman Follert; Tom Herbst; Armin Huber; Frank Kittmann; Martin Kürster; Werner Laun; Ulrich Mall; Daniel Meschke; Lars Mohr; Vianak Naranjo; Aleksei Pavlov; Jörg-Uwe Pott; Hans-Walter Rix; Ralf-Rainer Rohloff; Eva Schinnerer; Clemens Storz; Jan Trowitzsch; Zhaojun Yan; Xianyu Zhang; Andreas Eckart; Matthew Horrobin; Steffen Rost; Christian Straubmeier; Imke Wank; Jens Zuther; Udo Beckmann; Claus Connot; Matthias Heininger; Karl-Heinz Hofmann; Tim Kröner; Eddy Nussbaum; Dieter Schertl; Gerd Weigelt; Maria Bergomi; Alessandro Brunelli; Marco Dima; Jacopo Farinato; Demetrio Magrin; Luca Marafatto; Roberto Ragazzoni; Valentina Viotto; Carmelo Arcidiacono; Giovanni Bregoli; Paolo Ciliegi; Guiseppe Cosentino; Emiliano Diolaiti; Italo Foppiani; Matteo Lombini; Laura Schreiber; Francesco D'Alessio; Gianluca Li Causi; Dario Lorenzetti; Fabrizio Vitali; Mario Bertero; Patrizia Boccacci; Andrea La Camera
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

LINC-NIRVANA (LN) is the near-infrared, Fizeau-type imaging interferometer for the Large Binocular Telescope (LBT) on Mt. Graham, Arizona, USA (3267m of elevation). The instrument is currently being built by a consortium of German and Italian institutes under the leadership of the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA) in Heidelberg, Germany. It will combine the radiation from both 8.4m primary mirrors of LBT in such a way that the sensitivity of a 11.9m telescope and the spatial resolution of a 22.8m telescope will be obtained within a 10.5arcsec x 10.5arcsec scientific field of view. Interferometric fringes of the combined beams are tracked in an oval field with diameters of 1 and 1.5arcmin. In addition, both incoming beams are individually corrected by LN’s multi-conjugate adaptive optics (MCAO) system to reduce atmospheric image distortion over a circular field of up to 6arcmin in diameter. This paper gives a comprehensive technical overview of the instrument comprising the detailed design of LN’s four major systems for interferometric imaging and fringe tracking, both in the NIR range of 1 - 2.4μm, as well as atmospheric turbulence correction at two altitudes, both in the visible range of 0.6 - 0.9μm. The resulting performance capabilities and a short outlook of some of the major science goals will be presented. In addition, the roadmap for the related assembly, integration and verification (AIV) process will be discussed. To avoid late interface-related risks, strategies for early hardware as well as software interactions with the telescope have been elaborated. The goal is to ship LN to the LBT in 2014.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 October 2012
PDF: 17 pages
Proc. SPIE 8511, Infrared Remote Sensing and Instrumentation XX, 85110A (24 October 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.928284
Show Author Affiliations
Ralph Hofferbert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Harald Baumeister, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Thomas Bertram, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Jürgen Berwein, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Peter Bizenberger, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Armin Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Michael Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
José Luis Borelli, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Matthieu Brangier, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Florian Briegel, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Albert Conrad, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Fulvio De Bonis, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Roman Follert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Tom Herbst, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Armin Huber, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Frank Kittmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Martin Kürster, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Werner Laun, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Ulrich Mall, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Daniel Meschke, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Lars Mohr, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Vianak Naranjo, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Aleksei Pavlov, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Jörg-Uwe Pott, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Hans-Walter Rix, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Ralf-Rainer Rohloff, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Eva Schinnerer, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Clemens Storz, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Jan Trowitzsch, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Zhaojun Yan, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Xianyu Zhang, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Andreas Eckart, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Matthew Horrobin, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Steffen Rost, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Christian Straubmeier, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Imke Wank, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Jens Zuther, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Udo Beckmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Claus Connot, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Matthias Heininger, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Karl-Heinz Hofmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Tim Kröner, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Eddy Nussbaum, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Dieter Schertl, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Gerd Weigelt, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Maria Bergomi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Alessandro Brunelli, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Marco Dima, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Jacopo Farinato, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Demetrio Magrin, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Luca Marafatto, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Roberto Ragazzoni, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Valentina Viotto, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Carmelo Arcidiacono, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Giovanni Bregoli, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Paolo Ciliegi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Guiseppe Cosentino, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Emiliano Diolaiti, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Italo Foppiani, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Matteo Lombini, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Laura Schreiber, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Francesco D'Alessio, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Gianluca Li Causi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Dario Lorenzetti, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Fabrizio Vitali, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Mario Bertero, Univ. degli Studi di Genova (Italy)
Patrizia Boccacci, Univ. degli Studi di Genova (Italy)
Andrea La Camera, Univ. degli Studi di Genova (Italy)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8511:
Infrared Remote Sensing and Instrumentation XX
Marija Strojnik; Gonzalo Paez, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?