Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Advances in ladar components and subsystems at Raytheon
Author(s): Michael Jack; George Chapman; John Edwards; William Mc Keag; Tricia Veeder; Justin Wehner; Tom Roberts; Tom Robinson; James Neisz; Cliff Andressen; Robert Rinker; Donald N. B. Hall; Shane M. Jacobson; Farzin Amzajerdian; T. Dean Cook
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Raytheon is developing NIR sensor chip assemblies (SCAs) for scanning and staring 3D LADAR systems. High sensitivity is obtained by integrating high performance detectors with gain, i.e., APDs with very low noise Readout Integrated Circuits (ROICs). Unique aspects of these designs include: independent acquisition (non-gated) of pulse returns, multiple pulse returns with both time and intensity reported to enable full 3D reconstruction of the image. Recent breakthrough in device design has resulted in HgCdTe APDs operating at 300K with essentially no excess noise to gains in excess of 100, low NEP <1nW and GHz bandwidths and have demonstrated linear mode photon counting. SCAs utilizing these high performance APDs have been integrated and demonstrated excellent spatial and range resolution enabling detailed 3D imagery both at short range and long ranges. In the following we will review progress in real-time 3D LADAR imaging receiver products in three areas: (1) scanning 256 × 4 configuration for the Multi-Mode Sensor Seeker (MMSS) program and (2) staring 256 × 256 configuration for the Autonomous Landing and Hazard Avoidance Technology (ALHAT) lunar landing mission and (3) Photon-Counting SCAs which have demonstrated a dramatic reduction in dark count rate due to improved design, operation and processing.

Paper Details

Date Published: 31 May 2012
PDF: 17 pages
Proc. SPIE 8353, Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVIII, 83532F (31 May 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.923683
Show Author Affiliations
Michael Jack, Raytheon Co. (United States)
George Chapman, Raytheon Co. (United States)
John Edwards, Raytheon Co. (United States)
William Mc Keag, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Tricia Veeder, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Justin Wehner, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Tom Roberts, Raytheon Missile Systems (United States)
Tom Robinson, Raytheon Missile Systems (United States)
James Neisz, Raytheon Missile Systems (United States)
Cliff Andressen, Raytheon Missile Systems (United States)
Robert Rinker, Raytheon Missile Systems (United States)
Donald N. B. Hall, Univ. of Hawai'i (United States)
Shane M. Jacobson, Univ. of Hawai'i (United States)
Farzin Amzajerdian, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (United States)
T. Dean Cook, Naval Air Warfare Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8353:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVIII
Bjørn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Paul R. Norton, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?