Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

16 channel GHz low noise SWIR photoreceivers
Author(s): Xiaogang Bai; Ping Yuan; Paul McDonald; Joseph Boisvert; James Chang; Robyn Woo; Eduaro Labios; Rengarajan Sudharsanan; Michael Krainak; Guangning Yang; Xiaoli Sun; Wei Lu; Dion McIntosh; Qiugui Zhou; Joe Campbell
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Future NASA light detection and ranging (LIDAR) mapping systems require multi-channel receivers with high sensitivity and bandwidth operating at 1-1.5 μm wavelengths. One of the ways to improve the system performance is to improve the sensitivity of photoreceiver. InGaAs avalanche photodiode (APD) sensor technology is considered for this wavelength region because of high reliability. However, commercially available InGaAs APDs have low sensitivity due to the high excess-noise of InP material. Spectrolab has been developing low excess noise InGaAs avalanche photodiodes (APDs) with impact ionization engineering (I2E) structures and recently, APDs with excess noise factor of 0.15 have been demonstrated using an I2E design. Single channel photoreceivers built using low noise I2E APDs show a noise equivalent power (NEP) of 150 fW/rt(Hz) over a bandwidth of 1 GHz, a record for InGaAs based APDs. A 16 channel GHz SWIR photoreceiver was designed and built at Spectrolab. The photoreceiver was designed to work with a custom fiber bundle which couples the light from telescope to detectors. The photoreceiver shows a system level NEP less than 300 fW/rt(Hz) with 1 GHz bandwidth.

Paper Details

Date Published: 31 May 2012
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 8353, Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVIII, 83532E (31 May 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.919434
Show Author Affiliations
Xiaogang Bai, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
Ping Yuan, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
Paul McDonald, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
Joseph Boisvert, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
James Chang, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
Robyn Woo, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
Eduaro Labios, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
Rengarajan Sudharsanan, Boeing Spectrolab Inc. (United States)
Michael Krainak, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Guangning Yang, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Xiaoli Sun, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Wei Lu, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Dion McIntosh, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Qiugui Zhou, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Joe Campbell, Univ. of Virginia (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8353:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVIII
Bjørn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Paul R. Norton, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?