Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The in-vivo monitoring method for traumatic brain injury of mouse based on near-infrared light intensity
Author(s): Weitao Li; Xuena Wang; Zhiyu Qian; Jieru Xie; Xing Liu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

A system based on near-infrared light intensity was used to monitor mouse model of traumatic brain injury (TBI) noninvasively. The measurement system was controlled by microcontroller. Light from a 760/850nm dual-wavelength light emitting diode was coupled to a 0.6-mm-diameter optical fiber. The collection fibers were coupled to optoelectronic detectors, which were placed in the different distance from the source fiber. The system consisted of a constant current bias, a circuit lock-in amplifier (including band pass filter, lock-in amplifier, and low pass filter), a PCI 6240 data acquisition card and a multi-core-processor computer. The modified Lambert Beer law was used to calculate the concentration of ΔHbO2 and ΔHb. The sensitivity matrix was defined to evaluate the region of effective detection of optical probe. Five groups of TBI mouse models were built by Feeney's free-falling method. The data measured by system show after TBI the concentration of ΔHbO2 decreased and that of ΔHb increased. It can be concluded that the system can be used to monitor the changes of TBI of mouse non-invasively.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 February 2012
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 8207, Photonic Therapeutics and Diagnostics VIII, 82071N (9 February 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.903859
Show Author Affiliations
Weitao Li, Nanjing Univ. of Aeronautics and Astronautics (China)
Xuena Wang, Nanjing Univ. of Aeronautics and Astronautics (China)
Zhiyu Qian, Nanjing Univ. of Aeronautics and Astronautics (China)
Jieru Xie, Nanjing Univ. of Aeronautics and Astronautics (China)
Xing Liu, Nanjing Univ. of Aeronautics and Astronautics (China)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8207:
Photonic Therapeutics and Diagnostics VIII
Anita Mahadevan-Jansen; Andreas Mandelis; Kenton W. Gregory M.D.; Nikiforos Kollias; Hyun Wook Kang; Henry Hirschberg M.D.; Melissa J. Suter; Brian Jet-Fei Wong M.D.; Justus F. Ilgner M.D.; Stephen Lam; Bodo E. Knudsen M.D.; Steen Madsen; E. Duco Jansen; Bernard Choi; Guillermo J. Tearney M.D.; Laura Marcu; Haishan Zeng; Matthew Brenner; Krzysztof Izdebski, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?