Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Single photon counting linear mode avalanche photodiode technologies
Author(s): George M. Williams; Andrew S. Huntington
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The false count rate of a single-photon-sensitive photoreceiver consisting of a high-gain, low-excess-noise linear-mode InGaAs avalanche photodiode (APD) and a high-bandwidth transimpedance amplifier (TIA) is fit to a statistical model. The peak height distribution of the APD's multiplied dark current is approximated by the weighted sum of McIntyre distributions, each characterizing dark current generated at a different location within the APD's junction. The peak height distribution approximated in this way is convolved with a Gaussian distribution representing the input-referred noise of the TIA to generate the statistical distribution of the uncorrelated sum. The cumulative distribution function (CDF) representing count probability as a function of detection threshold is computed, and the CDF model fit to empirical false count data. It is found that only k=0 McIntyre distributions fit the empirically measured CDF at high detection threshold, and that false count rate drops faster than photon count rate as detection threshold is raised. Once fit to empirical false count data, the model predicts the improvement of the false count rate to be expected from reductions in TIA noise and APD dark current. Improvement by at least three orders of magnitude is thought feasible with further manufacturing development and a capacitive-feedback TIA (CTIA).

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 September 2011
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 8155, Infrared Sensors, Devices, and Applications; and Single Photon Imaging II, 81551M (16 September 2011); doi: 10.1117/12.903054
Show Author Affiliations
George M. Williams, Voxtel, Inc. (United States)
Andrew S. Huntington, Voxtel, Inc. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8155:
Infrared Sensors, Devices, and Applications; and Single Photon Imaging II
Manijeh Razeghi; Paul D. LeVan; Ashok K. Sood; Priyalal S. Wijewarnasuriya, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top