Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Conceptual design for a dispersive XAFS beamline in the compact storage ring MIRRORCLE
Author(s): N. Canestrari; V. Roger; P. Jeantet; O. Leynaud; L. Ortega; H. Yamada; T. Hanashima; J. E. Lorenzo; M. Sanchez del Rio
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We present the conceptual design of a dispersive X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (XAFS) beamline for MIRRORCLE, a new compact laboratory X-ray source. This machine accelerates electrons up to 1,4,6 or 20MeV (depending upon the model) in a ring and produces X-rays when the electrons collide onto a thin target. The radiation emitted has a white spectrum due to both synchrotron and bremsstrahlung emission. A substantial part of the electrons are recovered after collisions, and the emitted light has high flux, wide energy spectrum and a large angular dispersion. We have opted for a simple beamline design using a collimator, slits, a curved crystal, the sample environment and a CCD. The beamline parameters (position of the mirror, ray of curvature, slit aperture, reflecting angle, etc.) have been optimized by defining and improving a figure of merit. This optimization allows for room constraints (distances among elements), mechanical constraints (minimum curvature radii available) and optical constraints. Further ray tracing simulations using SHADOW3 have been performed to check all the theoretical results, refine the final parameters, quantitative flux calculations and for simulating the image on the CCD camera.

Paper Details

Date Published: 23 September 2011
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 8141, Advances in Computational Methods for X-Ray Optics II, 814116 (23 September 2011); doi: 10.1117/12.895284
Show Author Affiliations
N. Canestrari, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Institut Néel, CNRS, Univ. Joseph Fourier (France)
V. Roger, Institut Néel, CNRS, Univ. Joseph Fourier (France)
P. Jeantet, Institut Néel, CNRS, Univ. Joseph Fourier (France)
O. Leynaud, Institut Néel, CNRS, Univ. Joseph Fourier (France)
L. Ortega, Institut Néel, CNRS, Univ. Joseph Fourier (France)
H. Yamada, Ritsumeikan Univ. (Japan)
Photon Production Lab. (Japan)
T. Hanashima, Photon Production Lab. (Japan)
J. E. Lorenzo, Institut Néel, CNRS, Univ. Joseph Fourier (France)
M. Sanchez del Rio, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8141:
Advances in Computational Methods for X-Ray Optics II
Manuel Sanchez del Rio; Oleg Chubar, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?