Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

GHz low noise short wavelength infrared (SWIR) photoreceivers
Author(s): Xiaogang Bai; Ping Yuan; Paul McDonald; Joseph Boisvert; James Chang; Robyn Woo; Eduardo Labios; Rengarajan Sudharsanan; Michael Krainak; Guangning Yang; Xiaoli Sun; Wei Lu; Dion McIntosh; Qiugui Zhou; Joe Campbell
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Next generation LIDAR mapping systems require multiple channels of sensitive photoreceivers that operate in the wavelength region of 1.06 to 1.55 microns, with GHz bandwidth and sensitivity less than 300 fW/√Hz. Spectrolab has been developing high sensitivity photoreceivers using InAlAs impact ionization engineering (I2E) avalanche photodiodes (APDs) structures for this application. APD structures were grown using metal organic vapor epitaxy (MOVPE) and mesa devices were fabricated using these structures. We have achieved low excess noise at high gain in these APD devices; an impact ionization parameter, k, of about 0.15 has been achieved at gains >20 using InAlAs/InGaAlAs as a multiplier layer. Electrical characterization data of these devices show dark current less than 2 nA at a gain of 20 at room temperature; and capacitance of 0.4 pF for a typical 75 micron diameter APD. Photoreceivers were built by integrating I2E APDs with a low noise GHz transimpedance amplifier (TIA). The photoreceivers showed a bandwidth of 1 GHz and a noise equivalent power (NEP) of 150 fW/rt(Hz) at room temperature.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 June 2011
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 8037, Laser Radar Technology and Applications XVI, 803717 (8 June 2011); doi: 10.1117/12.884193
Show Author Affiliations
Xiaogang Bai, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Ping Yuan, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Paul McDonald, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Joseph Boisvert, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
James Chang, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Robyn Woo, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Eduardo Labios, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Rengarajan Sudharsanan, Boeing Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Michael Krainak, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Guangning Yang, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Xiaoli Sun, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Wei Lu, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Dion McIntosh, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Qiugui Zhou, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Joe Campbell, Univ. of Virginia (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8037:
Laser Radar Technology and Applications XVI
Monte D. Turner; Gary W. Kamerman, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?