Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Wavefront sensor for the ESA-GAIA mission
Author(s): L. L. A. Vosteen; F. Draaisma; W. P. van Werkhoven; L. J. M. van Riel; M. H. Mol; G. den Ouden
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

TNO developed a Wave Front Sensor (WFS) instrument for the GAIA mission. This Wave Front Sensor will be used to monitor the wave front errors of the two main telescopes mounted on the GAIA satellite, which may be corrected by a 5-degree of freedom (DOF) mechanism during operation. The GAIA-WFS will operate over a broad wavelength (450 to 900 nm) and under cryogenic conditions (130 to 200 K operation temperature). The WFS uses an all reflective, a-thermal design and is of the type of Shack-Hartmann. The boundary condition for the design is that the focal plane of the WFS is the same plane as the focal plane of the GAIA telescopes. The spot pattern generated after a micro lens array (MLA) by a star is compared to the pattern of one of the three calibration sources that is included in the WFS, allowing in flight calibration. We show the robust and lightweight opto mechanical design that is optimised for launch and cryogenic operation. Furthermore we give details on its alignment and commissioning. The WFS can measure wave front distortions in the order of lambda/1000, and determines the focal plane with an accuracy of 50 μm.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 September 2009
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 7439, Astronomical and Space Optical Systems, 743914 (17 September 2009); doi: 10.1117/12.825240
Show Author Affiliations
L. L. A. Vosteen, TNO Science and Industry (Netherlands)
F. Draaisma, TNO Science and Industry (Netherlands)
W. P. van Werkhoven, TNO Science and Industry (Netherlands)
L. J. M. van Riel, TNO Science and Industry (Netherlands)
M. H. Mol, TNO Science and Industry (Netherlands)
G. den Ouden, TNO Science and Industry (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7439:
Astronomical and Space Optical Systems
Penny G. Warren; James B. Heaney; Robert K. Tyson; Michael Hart; E. Todd Kvamme; Cheryl J. Marshall, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top