Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Telecommunication fiber link for the remote characterization of a magnesium optical frequency standard
Author(s): Osama Terra; Gesine Grosche; Wolfgang Ertmer; Thorsten Feldmann; Jan Friebe; Thomas Legero; Burghard Lipphardt; Andre Pape; Katharina Predehl; Ernst Rasel; Matthias Riedmann; Uwe Sterr; Temmo Wübbena; Harald Schnatz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We have characterized the 24Mg optical frequency standard at the Institute of Quantum Optics (IQ), Hanover, using a clock laser at the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB), Braunschweig, via a noise compensated 73 km fiber link and present preliminary results for the stability of the Mg standard. The stability of the clock laser (λ = 657 nm) is transferred with a femtosecond frequency comb to a telecommunication laser at λ = 1542 nm. The signal is then transmitted from PTB through the fiber link to IQ. A second comb at IQ (the remote end) is used to compare the transmitted laser frequency with that of the Mg clock laser λ = 914 nm. The frequency ratio of the clock lasers νMgCa shows a relative instability < 10-14 at 1 s. The upper limit for the contribution of the fiber link to the frequency instability is measured by connecting another optical fiber following the same 73 km route at Hanover computer center. The comparison performed at PTB between the local and the transmitted signal after a round trip length of 146 km showed a relative uncertainty below 1 x 10-19 and a short term instability σy(τ)= 3.3 x 10-15 / (τ/s).

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 August 2009
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 7431, Time and Frequency Metrology II, 74310B (25 August 2009); doi: 10.1117/12.825228
Show Author Affiliations
Osama Terra, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Gesine Grosche, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Wolfgang Ertmer, Leibniz Univ. Hannover (Germany)
Thorsten Feldmann, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Jan Friebe, Leibniz Univ. Hannover (Germany)
Thomas Legero, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Burghard Lipphardt, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Andre Pape, Leibniz Univ. Hannover (Germany)
Katharina Predehl, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Max-Planck-Institut for Quantum Optics (Germany)
Ernst Rasel, Leibniz Univ. Hannover (Germany)
Matthias Riedmann, Leibniz Univ. Hannover (Germany)
Uwe Sterr, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Temmo Wübbena, Leibniz Univ. Hannover (Germany)
Harald Schnatz, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7431:
Time and Frequency Metrology II
Tetsuya Ido; Derryck T. Reid, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?