Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

First results from MIRI verification model testing
Author(s): Tanya Lim; Jose Lorenzo Alvarez; Eva Bauwens; Alejandro Garcia Bedregal; Joris Blommaert; Helmut Dannerbauer; Paul Eccleston; Marc Ferlet; Sebastian Fischer; Macarena Garcia-Marin; Alistair Glasse; Adrian Michael Glauser; Karl Gordon; Tom Greene; Tim Grundy; Martin Hennemann; Ulrich Klaas; Alvaro Labiano; Fred Lahuis; Juan Rafael Martínez-Galarza; Bruno Merin Martin; Jane Morrison; Theodoros Nakos; Brian O'Sullivan; Bart Pindor; Michael Ressler; Bryan Shaughnessy; Bart Vandenbussche; Martyn Wells; Gillian Wright; Jens Zuther
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Mid-Infrared Instrument (MIRI) is one of the three scientific instruments to fly on the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST), which is due for launch in 2013. MIRI contains two sub-instruments, an imager, which has low resolution spectroscopy and coronagraphic capabilities in addition to imaging, and a medium resolution IFU spectrometer. A verification model of MIRI was assembled in 2007 and a cold test campaign was conducted between November 2007 and February 2008. This model was the first scientifically representative model, allowing a first assessment to be made of the performance. This paper describes the test facility and testing done. It also reports on the first results from this test campaign.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 July 2008
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 7010, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2008: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter, 70103A (12 July 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.789460
Show Author Affiliations
Tanya Lim, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Jose Lorenzo Alvarez, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Eva Bauwens, Instituut voor Sterrenkunde Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)
Alejandro Garcia Bedregal, Instituto de Estructura de la Materia, CSIC (Spain)
Joris Blommaert, Instituut voor Sterrenkunde Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)
Helmut Dannerbauer, Max-Planck Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Paul Eccleston, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Marc Ferlet, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Sebastian Fischer, Institut Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Macarena Garcia-Marin, Institut Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Alistair Glasse, UK Astronomy Technology Ctr. (United Kingdom)
Adrian Michael Glauser, Paul Scherrer Institut (Switzerland)
Karl Gordon, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Tom Greene, NASA Ames Research Ctr. (United States)
Tim Grundy, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Martin Hennemann, Max-Planck Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Ulrich Klaas, Max-Planck Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Alvaro Labiano, Instituto de Estructura de la Materia, CSIC (Spain)
Fred Lahuis, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Leiden Observatory, Leiden Univ. (Netherlands)
Juan Rafael Martínez-Galarza, Leiden Observatory, Leiden Univ. (Netherlands)
Bruno Merin Martin, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Jane Morrison, The Univ. of Arizona (United States)
Theodoros Nakos, Sterrenkundig Observatorium, Univ. of Ghent (Belgium)
Brian O'Sullivan, Astrium, Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Bart Pindor, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)
Michael Ressler, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Bryan Shaughnessy, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Bart Vandenbussche, Instituut voor Sterrenkunde Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)
Martyn Wells, UK Astronomy Technology Ctr. (United Kingdom)
Gillian Wright, UK Astronomy Technology Ctr. (United Kingdom)
Jens Zuther, Institut Univ. zu Köln (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7010:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2008: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter
Jacobus M. Oschmann Jr.; Mattheus W. M. de Graauw; Howard A. MacEwen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top