Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Advanced extreme ultraviolet resist testing using the SEMATECH Berkeley 0.3-NA microfield exposure tool
Author(s): Patrick P. Naulleau; Christopher N. Anderson; Jerrin Chiu; Kim Dean; Paul Denham; Kenneth A. Goldberg; Brian Hoef; Sungmin Huh; Gideon Jones; Bruno M. LaFontaine; Andy Ma; Dimitra Niakoula; Joo-on Park; Tom Wallow
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Microfield exposure tools (METs) continue to play a dominant role in the development of extreme ultraviolet (EUV) resists. Here we present an update on the SEMATECH Berkeley 0.3-NA MET and summarize the latest test results from high-resolution line-space and contact-hole printing. In practice, the resolution limit of contact-hole printing is generally dominated by contact size variation that is often speculated to originate form shot noise effects. Such observations of photon-noise limited performance are concerning because they suggest that future increased resist sensitivity would not be feasible. Recent printing data, however, indicates that the contact size variation problem is currently not a result of shot noise but rather attributable to the mask in combination with the resist-dominated mask error enhancement factor (MEEF). Also discussed is the importance of the contribution of the system-level line-edge roughness (LER) to resist LER values currently obtained with the SEMATECH Berkeley MET. We present the expected magnitude of such effects and compare the results to observed trends in LER performance from EUV resists over the past few years.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 April 2008
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 6921, Emerging Lithographic Technologies XII, 69213N (3 April 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.773833
Show Author Affiliations
Patrick P. Naulleau, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Christopher N. Anderson, Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
Jerrin Chiu, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Kim Dean, SEMATECH, Inc. (United States)
Paul Denham, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Kenneth A. Goldberg, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Brian Hoef, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Sungmin Huh, Samsung Electronics (South Korea)
Gideon Jones, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Bruno M. LaFontaine, Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. (United States)
Andy Ma, SEMATECH, Inc. (United States)
Dimitra Niakoula, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Joo-on Park, SEMATECH, Inc. (United States)
Tom Wallow, Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6921:
Emerging Lithographic Technologies XII
Frank M. Schellenberg, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top