Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

GaAs/AlAs quantum wells for selective terahertz sensing: study by differential surface pothovoltage spectroscopy
Author(s): Julius Kavaliauskas; Bronislovas Čechavičius; Genė Krivaitė; Dalius Seliuta; Gintaras Valušis; Ben Sherliker; Matthew Halsall; Paul Harrison; Suraj Khanna; Edmund Linfield
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We have studied interband optical transitions, electronic structure and structural quality of p-type (Be) and n-type (Si) &dgr;- doped GaAs/AlAs MQWs designed for selective THz sensing applying differential surface photovoltage (DSPV) spectroscopy. Sharp derivative-like features associated with excitonic optical transitions in GaAs/AlAs MQWs have been observed in the spectra at 300 K and 90 K temperature. The energies and line broadening parameters for a large number of QW related excitonic transitions were determined from the line-shape analysis of the DSPV spectra. The spectroscopic data of transition energies were found to be in a good agreement with calculations within the envelope function approximation which took into account the nonparabolicity of energy bands. Analysis of the dependence of the exciton linewidth broadening on the quantum subband number allowed evaluate line-broadening mechanisms and interface roughness in the MQW structures. It was determined that doping with Si broadens more effectively the optical spectra lines in comparison with the structures of the same design doped with Be.

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 January 2007
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 6596, Advanced Optical Materials, Technologies, and Devices, 65960F (25 January 2007); doi: 10.1117/12.726400
Show Author Affiliations
Julius Kavaliauskas, Semiconductor Physics Institute (Lithuania)
Bronislovas Čechavičius, Semiconductor Physics Institute (Lithuania)
Genė Krivaitė, Semiconductor Physics Institute (Lithuania)
Dalius Seliuta, Semiconductor Physics Institute (Lithuania)
Gintaras Valušis, Semiconductor Physics Institute (Lithuania)
Ben Sherliker, Univ. of Manchester (United Kingdom)
Matthew Halsall, Univ. of Manchester (United Kingdom)
Paul Harrison, Univ. of Leeds (United Kingdom)
Suraj Khanna, Univ. of Leeds (United Kingdom)
Edmund Linfield, Univ. of Leeds (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6596:
Advanced Optical Materials, Technologies, and Devices
Steponas Ašmontas; Jonas Gradauskas, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top