Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The new 1.5m solar telescope GREGOR: first light and start of commissioning
Author(s): Reiner Volkmer; Oskar von der Lühe; Franz Kneer; Jürgen Staude; Thomas Berkefeld; Peter Caligari; Clemens Halbgewachs; Frank Heidecke; Wolfgang Schmidt; Dirk Soltau; Harald Nicklas; Axel Wittmann; Horst Balthasar; Axel Hofmann; Klaus Strassmeier; Michal Sobotka; Miroslav Klvana; Manuel Collados
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The integration of the three main silicon carbide mirrors into the new 1.5 m solar telescope GREGOR at Izana on Tenerife, Spain is planned during 2006. We expect first light at the end of 2006. A progress report about integration of the optics and mechanics and planning of the commissioning phase of the telescope and post focus instruments will be presented at the meeting. The GREGOR telescope is build by a consortium of the Kiepenheuer Institut fur Sonnenphysik in Freiburg, the Astrophysikalische Institut Potsdam, the Institut fur Astronomie Gottingen and additional national and international Partners.

Paper Details

Date Published: 23 June 2006
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 6267, Ground-based and Airborne Telescopes, 62670W (23 June 2006); doi: 10.1117/12.671165
Show Author Affiliations
Reiner Volkmer, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Oskar von der Lühe, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Franz Kneer, Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)
Jürgen Staude, Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam (Germany)
Thomas Berkefeld, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Peter Caligari, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Clemens Halbgewachs, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Frank Heidecke, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Wolfgang Schmidt, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Dirk Soltau, Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (Germany)
Harald Nicklas, Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)
Axel Wittmann, Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)
Horst Balthasar, Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)
Axel Hofmann, Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam (Germany)
Klaus Strassmeier, Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam (Germany)
Michal Sobotka, Astronomical Institute AV CR (Czech Republic)
Miroslav Klvana, Astronomical Institute AV CR (Czech Republic)
Manuel Collados, Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (Spain)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 6267:
Ground-based and Airborne Telescopes
Larry M. Stepp, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top