Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Temperature dependence of dark current in HgCdTe photodiode arrays
Author(s): F. F. Sizov; J. V. Gumenjuk-Sichevska; I. O. Lysiuk; V. V. Zabudsky; A. G. Golenkov; S. G. Bunchuk
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Current-voltage characteristics and differential resistance of n+ -p Hg1-xCdxTe (x=0.2236±0.0015) LWIR (long wavelength infrared) photodiodes forming 128-element array were measured in the temperature range 77-95 K. Experimentally obtained characteristics were fitted by the special nonlinear fitting program based on the carrier- balance equation method which interconnects two processes of transport through the trap level in the band gap: trap-assisted tunneling and thermal Shockley-Reed-Hall generation-recombination process. Other essential current mechanisms (bulk diffusion, band-to-band tunneling, etc.) were included in the model as independent and additive. By the fitting procedure we determine the concentration of donor, acceptor and trap centers, carrier lifetimes, and trap level energy position in the band gap. A good agreement with the experimental data in the whole temperature range of measurements was found assuming that the energy of traps is Et= 0.75 eV above the top of the valence band and does not depend on temperature, unlike the band gap energy. This level seems to be a donor metal vacancies nature of traps in HgCdTe.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 September 2005
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 5957, Infrared Photoelectronics, 59571L (29 September 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.623219
Show Author Affiliations
F. F. Sizov, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
J. V. Gumenjuk-Sichevska, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
I. O. Lysiuk, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
V. V. Zabudsky, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
A. G. Golenkov, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
S. G. Bunchuk, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5957:
Infrared Photoelectronics
Antoni Rogalski; Eustace L. Dereniak; Fiodor F. Sizov, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top